McLaren will race Lewis Hamilton in 2007

Lewis Hamilton, F3, 2004McLaren-Mercedes will run GP2 champion Lewis Hamilton alongside Fernando Alonso in 2007, it was confirmed this morning.

Hamilton is the first rookie signed to race a full season for McLaren since Michael Andretti in 1993. Andretti didn’t see out the season and was replaced by Mika Hakkinen.

Hakkinen had been thought to be considering making a comeback with McLaren but with Pedro de la Rosa and Gary Paffett confirmed as the team’s test drivers it seems this is not the case.

Hamilton will be the fourth British drivers in F1 in 2007, joining Jenson Button, David Coulthard and Anthony Davidson.

Related links

Promoted content from around the web | Become an F1 Fanatic Supporter to hide this ad and others

Advert | Go Ad-free

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.

Skip to toolbar