British GP 2007 statistics & facts

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, Silverstone, 2007, 2Kimi Raikkonen and Ferrari have the most victories in their respective championships – but they’re not leading them.

Plus, proof that the 2007-specification cars are now quicker than last year’s models despite the move to specification tyres. And which driver is once again leading the ‘most car failures’ table?

Kimi Raikkonen became the first driver to win three races this year and moved into third in the championship ahead of team mate Felipe Massa.

This means the driver with the most wins (Raikkonen, three) isn’t leading the drivers’ championship and the team with the most wins (Ferrari, five) aren’t winning the constructors’ championship. Luca Montezemolo was unhesitant in his criticism of the championship, saying: “This is unsporting, it’s wrong: F1 shouldn’t be a sport for calculators, it should be for winners.”

Both McLaren drivers continued their excellent string of consecutive points finishes this year. His scoring rate of 7.78 points per race is higher than Alonso’s was last year (7.44) when the Spaniard won the championship.

Hamilton equalled Jim Clark’s record of consecutive podium finishes for a British driver with nine.

Mark Webber suffered his fourth race-ending mechanical failure of the season – more than any other driver. Last year he suffered the highest number of mechanical failures of any driver (six, tied with Mark Webber).

But Red Bull stable mate Scott Speed has suffered the most retirements – six – three mechanical and three due to incident.

Until Magny-Cours the fastest laps set in qualifying this year had all been slower than their equivalents last year. But for the past two races the fastest times have been quicker. Fernando Alonso’s 1’19.152 was 1.1s quicker than the best time he set last year.

Qualifying and the race had a peculiar symmetry at Silverstone. Five teams filled the ten places in the last part of qualifying: McLaren, Ferrari, BMW, Renault and Toyota. Then in the race the top ten stayed the same except the Toyotas were replaced by rivals Honda.

Having been out-qualified by their respective team mates all year Ralf Schumacher and Alexander Wurz finally turned the tables on Jarno Trulli and Nico Rosberg. However Rosberg beat Wurz in the race and neither of the Toyotas finished.

The last five British Grands Prix have all had different winners. It was also the author’s seventh visit to a race – all of which have been won by different drivers…

Related links

Tags: / / / /