2008 Turkish GP stats and facts

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen, Istanbul, 2008, 470150

I’ve had a rummage through the data and pulled out some interesting statistics and facts on the Turkish Grand Prix. Have I missed anything? Post your findings in the comments.

Plus the full drivers’ and constructors’ championship tables after round five.

Felipe Massa won his third Turkish Grand Prix in a row from his third pole position in a row at the circuit. Giancarlo Fisichella crashed on the first lap of the Turkish Grand Prix for the third race in a row.

Happily, Sebastian Vettel did not retire on the first lap for the third consecutive race this year, and was a classified finisher for the first time in 2008. He is the last driver to finish a race this year.

Massa’s seventh Grand Prix win puts him level with Rene Arnoux and Juan Pablo Montoya. It was also his 11th pole position and 20th podium finish, and he passed the 5,000 laps raced mark having now amassed 5,022.

2008 F1 average gridMassa also has the best average starting position (see right) of 2.2. Robert Kubica is second with 3.2 as his fifth on the grid this weekend was his worst starting position of the year. There are some big gaps between team mates, particularly the Toyotas (Jarno Trulli 6.4, Timo Glock 14) and Renaults (Fernando Alonso 7.8, Nelson Piquet Jnr 14.8).

It was the 23rd consecutive race won by a McLaren or a Ferrari, which equals the all-time record held by the same two teams between the 1987 Japanese and 1989 United States Grands Prix. Of those, 19 were won by McLaren and four by Ferrari. This time, Ferrari have 14 and McLaren nine.

Heikki Kovalainen started from the front row of the grid for the first time in his career. Compatriot Kimi Raikkonen set the fastest lap for the second race in the row, his 27th, which puts him fourth in the all-time list of drivers with the most fastest laps, one behind Jim Clark.

Mark Webber scored points for the fourth consecutive race, which equals the best he has ever achieved. He scored points in the Bahrain, San Marino, Spanish and Monaco Grands Prix for Williams in 2005.

With Super Aguri no more the race saw the fewest entrants since the 2005 Chinese Grand Prix when there were also 20.

It was the 40th consecutive points-scoring finish for a Ferrari-engined car.

Alonso is poised to break the 500 points mark having now scored 499. Nelson Piquet Jnr finished 15th, Renault’s worst finishing position since Kovalainen in the French Grand Prix last year, who at least had the excuse of being hit on the first lap. The worst classified finish for a Renault car was Arnoux’s 16th in the 1982 Swiss Grand Prix (“Isn’t motor racing banned in Switzerland?” I hear you ask. Indeed it is – the race was held at Dijon in France).

Jenson Button completed his 100th race distance from 142 Grand Prix presences.

And last, but certainly not least, Rubens Barrichello set a new record for the most Grand Prix starts, with 257. He eclipses Riccardo Patrese’s mark of 256, which has stood since 1993.

Rubens Barrichello, Honda, Istanbul, 2008, 257 Grands Prix, 470313

Drivers’ championship standings

Kimi Raikkonen 35
Felipe Massa 28
Lewis Hamilton 28
Robert Kubica 24
Nick Heidfeld 20
Heikki Kovalainen 14
Mark Webber 10
Fernando Alonso 9
Jarno Trulli 9
Nico Rosberg 8
Kazuki Nakajima 5
Jenson Button 3
Sebastien Bourdais 2

Not scored

Rubens Barrichello
David Coulthard
Anthony Davidson*
Giancarlo Fisichella
Timo Glock
Nelson Piquet Jnr
Takuma Sato*
Adrian Sutil
Sebastian Vettel

Constructors’ championship standings

Ferrari 63
BMW 44
McLaren 42
Williams 13
Red Bull 10
Renault 9
Toyota 9
Honda 3
Toro Rosso 2

Not scored

Force India F1 Team
Super Aguri*

*Team has withdrawn from the championship