Monaco Grand Prix 2008 facts & stats

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Lewis Hamilton, McLaren-Mercedes, Monte-Carlo, 2008, 3, 470150

Here’s a round up of the statistical highlights from yesterday’s dramatic Monaco Grand Prix.

Spotted a curious stat I’ve missed? Then post it in the comments below…

Of the 55 Monaco Grands Prix to date, 35 have been won from the front row, but neither Ferrari driver was able to do that meaning the team’s losing streak at Monaco is now seven races. The team went 19 years without a win at Monaco between 1955 and 1975.

For the first time in favour years the driver on pole position (Felipe Massa) failed to win the Monaco Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton won the Monaco Grand Prix from third on the grid, the tenth time that has happened. It was McLaren’s 15th win in the Monaco Grand Prix. One more and they will have twice as many as any other team, rivals Ferrari having scored eight.

It was his sixth career victory putting him level with fellow British drivers Tony Brooks and John Surtees, plus Jochen Rindt, Gilles Villeneuve, Jacques Laffite, Riccardo Patrese and Ralf Schumacher. It was Hamilton’s first win not scored from pole position.

Hamilton’s record at Monaco is very strong: he won both F3 Euroseries races in 2005, the GP2 race in 2006, was runner-up last year and won this year, giving him four wins in five races at the principality.

Felipe Massa scored his 12th career pole position, the same number as Gerhard Berger and David Coulthard. He also scored his fourth consecutive podium finish, a personal best.

Giancarlo Fisichella made his 200th Grand Prix start. Of those, 55 were for his current team, most of which in its previous incarnation as Jordan. He has failed to start twice: France in 2002 (injured in qualifying) and the USA in 2005 (Michelin tyre users withdrew) giving him a total of 202 appearances.

Rubens Barrichello scored points for the first time since the 2006 Brazilian Grand Prix, 23 races ago. Sebastian Vettel also scored his first points of the year on the maiden appearance of the STR3.

Despite his various problems Kimi Raikkonen notched up yet another career fastest lap, his 28th, putting him level with Jim Clark. However his 12-race streak of finishing in the points came to an end – he last failed to score when he retired from the European Grand Prix.

Three drivers have been classified finishers in every race this year: Raikkonen, Hamilton and Nick Heidfeld. Toro Rosso are yet to get both their drivers to the finish of the same event. In fact they’ve only mustered four finishes from 12 starts, and one of the four was Bourdais’ classification at Melbourne when his car had stopped.

2008 Race position changes after MonacoAnd three drivers have an average finishing position that is worse than their average starting position. However in the case of two of those drivers, Heikki Kovalainen and Lewis Hamilton, that statistic is distorted by races where they finished low down the order because of problems early in the race. Only one driver is consistently finishing below his starting position: Jarno Trulli (see chart).

Mark Webber has scored points in the last five consecutive Grands Prix – a personal best. Meanwhile Kazuki Nakajima has quietly amassed three points-scoring finishes from his seven career starts.

Nelson Piquet Jnr failed to progress beyond the first part of qualifying for the third time in six attempts.

Despite the demanding conditions the Monaco Grand Prix actually saw the average number of finishers for a race in 2008 – 69% of the field, or 14 drivers.

The top four drivers in the championship are covered by six points. After the sixth race of last season the top four were covered by 21 points – and the fourth driver was eventual champion Kimi Raikkonen