2008 Canadian GP facts & stats

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Robert Kubica, Nick Heidfeld, BMW, Montreal, 2008, 470150

With Robert Kubica winning the first ever Formula 1 Grand Prix for Poland there’s a bumper crop of facts and statistics following yesterday’s Canadian Grand Prix.

Nick Heidfeld is now the driver with the most second places and no wins, Kimi Raikkonen set yet another fastest lap, and McLaren & Ferrari’s domination of the top step of the podium came to an end.

Read on for more and post any other interesting stats you find below. Plus the championship standings in full.

Robert Kubica scored his first Grand Prix victory in his 29th F1 start. He is the first Polish driver to win an F1 race, making Poland the 20th nation to produce an F1 race-winning driver. A further win for Kubica will put them level with Mexico on two.

It was the second consecutive maiden victory for a driver at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

Kubica is the 99th Grand Prix winner and joins Jarno Trulli and Jenson Button as active drivers with a single Grand Prix win. There are now ten active Grand Prix drivers who have won a race, half the field.

And Kubica is also now leading the drivers’ championship by four points (see below) despite having only one win to the two each of Lewis Hamilton, Felipe Massa and Kimi Raikkonen. If the championship were still running to the 1991-2002 points system he, Hamilton and Massa would be tied on 32 points with Raikkonen on 30.

BMW’s first win makes them the 31st team to win a race (having not won in their previous incarnation as Sauber). Seven other outfits have won just one race: Kuzma, Porsche, Eagle, Hesketh, Penske, Shadow and Stewart. They also scored their first one-two and are the first team to score their maiden victory with a one-two since Jordan at Spa-Francorchamps in 1998 with Damon Hill and Ralf Schumacher.

However it was the 20th win for a BMW engine, which had eight victories in the back of a Brabham (1982-5), one in a Benetton (1986) and ten in a Williams (2001-2004). It was BMW’s first win with a 2.4 litre V8, the others being 1.5 litre turbos or 3.0 litres V10s.

Nick Heidfeld finished second for the fifth time in his career, one of which was at this track last year. He is now the driver with the greatest number of second place finishes without winning a race, beating Stefan Johansson (four).

He is also tied for third among the drivers who have scored the most podiums without a win. He has nine, as do Jean Behra, Eddie Cheever and Martin Brundle. Here Johansson still leads the way (12) followed by Chris Amon (11).

Lewis Hamilton was on pole position for the eighth time in his career, putting him level with John Surtees and Riccardo Patrese. It was his second in a row in Montreal.

David Coulthard scored his 62nd podium in 236 starts, 37 races since his last one (Monaco 2006). It was also his first points of the season.

Timo Glock also scored his first points of the year, and his first for Toyota, at the track where he made his F1 debut in 2004.

For the fourth race in a row Kimi Raikkonen set the fastest lap. It was his 29th, putting him fourth in the all-time list, one behind Nigel Mansell and one ahead of Jim Clark.

It’s the second time in his career he’s set four in a row, the other occasion being between the 2005 French and Hungarian Grands Prix. The record for the most consecutive fastest laps belongs to Alberto Ascari (seven, Belgium 1952 – Argentina 1953) followed by Michael Schumacher (five, Bahrain – Europe 2004). Four consecutive laps have been achieved on three other occasions by Jackie Stewart, Gilles Villeneuve, and Nigel Mansell.

Mark Webber’s best-ever streak of five consecutive races in the points came to an end, as did Felipe Massa’s personal best streak of four consecutive podiums.

Lewis Hamilton and Felipe Massa have both scored two wins, a second, a third and a fifth this year. Hamilton’s single extra classification, 13th at Bahrain, noses him ahead in the championship standings.

McLaren and Ferrari’s record-breaking 24 consecutive race wins between them came to an end. Ferrari won 14 and Mclaren ten, the last race not won by either of these teams was the 2006 Japanese Grand Prix (won by Fernando Alonso for Renault).

Nelson Piquet Jnr has now gone seven races without scoring a point for Renault. It’s the longest point-less streak for a Renault driver since Patrick Tambay failed to score in the eight races between the 1985 British and Australian Grands Prix.

Finally, Rubens Barrichello made his official 257th start. He celebrated the milestone two races ago in Turkey, having counted two races where he reached the grid but did not start the races as ‘starts’.

Drivers’ championship standings

Robert Kubica 42
Lewis Hamilton 38
Felipe Massa 38
Kimi Raikkonen 35
Nick Heidfeld 28
Heikki Kovalainen 15
Mark Webber 15
Jarno Trulli 12
Fernando Alonso 9
Nico Rosberg 8
Kazuki Nakajima 7
David Coulthard 6
Rubens Barrichello 5
Timo Glock 5
Sebastian Vettel 5
Jenson Button 3
Sebastien Bourdais 2

Not scored

Anthony Davidson
Giancarlo Fisichella
Nelson Piquet Jnr
Takuma Sato
Adrian Sutil

Constructors’ championship standings

Ferrari 73
BMW 70
McLaren 53
Red Bull 21
Toyota 17
Williams 15
Renault 9
Honda 8
Toro Rosso 7

Not scored

Force India
Supre Aguri