2008 German GP Facts & Stats

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Lewis Hamilton was one-third of the youngest podium trio ever
Lewis Hamilton was one-third of the youngest podium trio ever

The 2008 German Grand Prix saw the youngest ever podium. Plus Kimi Raikkonen failed to match the record for most consecutive fastest lap, while Nick Heidfeld goes after the record of most consecutive finishes.

More stats and facts from the German Grand Prix below.

Lewis Hamilton scored his eighth career victory giving him as many as Denny Hulme, Jacky Ickx and Felipe Massa. He has now won as many races as he did last year. He also started from pole position for the ninth time.

It was McLaren’s first win at the Hockenheimring since Mika Hakkinen won in 1998.

Kimi Raikkonen failed to set the fastest lap for the seventh race in a row which would have seen him match Alberto Ascari’s all-time record of seven. Nick Heidfeld instead set the second fastest lap of his career having set the first at Malaysia this year.

Nelson Piquet Jnr scored the first podium finish of his career with second. It was also the first time a Renault has led a race this year.

This means half of the drivers have led a lap this year (11):

Lewis Hamilton 233
Felipe Massa 168
Kimi R??ikk??nen 135
Robert Kubica 49
Nick Heidfeld 21
Heikki Kovalainen 13
Rubens Barrichello 7
Nelsinho Piquet 6
Timo Glock 3
Jarno Trulli 2
David Coulthard 1

Last year 12 drivers led at least one lap.

With Nelson Piquet Jnr and Felipe Massa on the podium it was the first time two Brazilians have stood on the podium since Ayrton Senna (first) and Nelson Piquet Snr (third) in the 1991 Belgian Grand Prix.

Hamilton, Massa and Piquet Jnr together made the youngest ever podium with an average age of 24 years, seven months and one day. The previous youngest podium was Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen and Juan Pablo Montoya in the 2003 Hungarian Grand Prix, an average of 24 years, seven months and 12 days.

Nick Heidfeld was classifeid for the 20th race in a row. The record for most consecutive race classifications is held by Michael Schumacher, with 24 between 2001 and 2003.

What interesting stats did you spot in the German Grand Prix results?