100 F1 race winners: statistics

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Michael Schumacher holds the record for the most F1 wins with 91
Michael Schumacher holds the record for the most F1 wins with 91

To finish our look at the 100 different driver to have won a Grand Prix here’s a statistical breakdown of the different winners so far.

Which country has won the most Grands Prix? What’s been the longest stretch without the same driver winning twice? Who won his home race the most? Find out below.

Victories by nationality

On 198 occasions victory has been claimed by a British driver. Germany is the only other nation to have passed the 100 mark, largely down to the efforts of Michael Schumacher.

A total of 20 different nations have scored Grand Prix victories, the most recent being Poland thanks to Robert Kubica’s win at Montreal this year. Here’s a full breakdown:

1. Great Britain 198
2. Germany 103
3. Brazil 96
4. France 79
5. Italy 43
6. Finland 43
7. Austria 41
8. Argentina 38
9. United States 33
10. Australia 26
11. Spain 19
12. Canada 17
13. New Zealand 12
14. Sweden 12
15. Belgium 11
16. South Africa 10
17. Switzerland 7
18. Colombia 7
19. Mexico 2
20. Poland 1

The record for the most Grand Prix wins

Alberto Ascari was the first driver to score ten Grand Prix wins. The 1953 Swiss Grand Prix was his 13th and final win, and Juan Manuel Fangio surpassed his record at the 1955 Argentine Grand Prix.

Fangio’s famous win at the Nurburgring in 1957 marked his 24th and final F1 win. A decade passed before that mark was equalled, by Jim Clark. The 1968 South African Grand Prix was Clark’s 25th and last victory in the world championship before his untimely death.

Jackie Stewart equalled Clark’s record in 1973 and retired at the end of the year having won 27 times. It was 14 years before Alain Prost matched that, at Spa-Francorchamps.

Prost’s final win, his 51st, came at the 1993 German Grand Prix. (His disqualification from the 1985 San Marino Grand Prix due to being underweight rankled with him. Howevert, he inherited victory in the 1982 Brazilian Grand Prix due to the disqualification of the two people who finished in front of him).

At that time Michael Schumacher had just one Grand Prix win to his name but at the 2001 Hungarian Grand Prix he matched Prost’s record. Another 40 wins by the 2006 Chinese Grand Prix pushed the highest victory tally up to 91, and it’s likely that whoever breaks it will be the first driver to pass 100 wins.

Oldest living F1 winners

The five oldest living F1 race winners are:

1. Jose-Froilan Gonzalez, 85 years, 10 months and 10 days
2. Jack Brabham, 82 years, 4 months and 13 days
3. Phil Hill, 81 years 3 months and 26 days
4. Jim Rathmann, 80 years and 30 days
5. Stirling Moss, 78 years 10 months and 29 days

Lowest starting position a Grand Prix has been won from

The five lowest starting positions a Grand Prix has been won from are:

22nd – once
19th – once
18th – once
17th – twice
16th – twice

A Grand Prix has never been won from 21st, 20th or 15th on the grid.

Most wins in home Grand Prix

The five drivers who won their home Grand Prix the most were:

Alain Prost, France, 6 times
Jim Clark, Britain, 5 times
Juan Manuel Fangio, Argentina. 4 times
Nigel Mansell, Britain, 4 times
Michael Schumacher, Germany, 4 times

Other stats

Ayrton Senna won the most consecutive races at the same venue, with five wins in the Monaco Grand Prix from 1989-1993.

The largest number of different winners in consecutive races ran for nine races from the 1961 to 1962 French Grands Prix. The winners were Giancarlo Baghetti, Wolfgang von Trips, Stirling Moss, Phil Hill, Innes Ireland, Graham Hill, Bruce McLaren, Jim Clark and Dan Gurney. It was Clark who broke the sequence.

Alberto Ascari won the most consecutive races started, nine between the 1952 and 1953 Belgian Grand Prix (he did not start the Indianapolis round).

The youngest Grand Prix winner was Fernando Alonso in the 2003 Hungarian Grand Prix (22 years and 26 days) and the oldest was Luigi Fagioli in the 1951 French Grand Prix, (53 years and 22 days).

There have been three shared wins in F1 history: Luigi Fagioli and Juan Manuel Fangio (France, 1951), Luigi Musso and Juan Manuel Fangio (Argentina 1956) and Tony Brooks and Stirling Moss (Britain 1957). Today, drivers may not share cars.