800 F1 Grands Prix in numbers

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Fernando Alonso won the 800th F1 championship race in Singapore
Fernando Alonso won the 800th F1 championship race in Singapore

The Singapore Grand Prix marked the 800th round of the F1 world championship.

Here?s a breakdown of which countries and teams have won the most races and loads more statistics and facts to do with this landmark race.

Grand Prix wins by country

This graph shows which countries? drivers have won the most Grands Prix.

Grand Prix wins by country (click to enlarge)
Grand Prix wins by country (click to enlarge)

Britain is one win away from its 200th victory, or just under a quarter of all F1 races. All but 13 of Germany?s were scored by Michael Schumacher, and all 20 of Spain?s belong to Fernando Alonso.

Grand Prix wins by team

This graph shows which team has won the most Grands Prix.

Grand Prix wins by country (click to enlarge)
Grand Prix wins by country (click to enlarge)

Ferrari scored their 200th F1 win in the Chinese Grand Prix last year. The 800 F1 races have been won by 32 different teams.

Teams with most starts

1 Ferrari 773
2 McLaren 645
3 Williams 514
4 Lotus 491
5 Tyrrell 430
6 Brabham 394
7 Minardi 340
8 Ligier 326
9 Arrows 291
10 Benetton 260

Other active teams: Renault 242, Toyota 119, Honda 85, Red Bull 68, BMW and Toro Rosso 50, Force India 15.

Wins by starting position

This graph shows how many Grands Prix have been won from each starting position:

Grand Prix wins by starting position (click to enlarge)
Grand Prix wins by starting position (click to enlarge)

More Grands Prix have been won from pole position than any other starting position ?ǣ 39.25%. The lowest grid position a race has been won from is 22nd (John Watson, Long Beach 1983) and there aren?t enough cars in F1 today for that record to be equalled or beaten.

Alonso became the first driver to win a race from 15th this weekend. Two other drivers in F1 today have won races from lower on the grid: Kimi Raikkonen (Suzuka 2005, 17th) and Rubens Barrichello (Hockenheim 2000, 18th).

Non-national Grands Prix

From time to time Grands Prix have adopted titles other than the country their race is held in.

Often this has been to capitalise on an appetite for F1 in a country because of the success of a local driver, such as Michael Schumacher (two German rounds from 1995-2006) and Fernando Alonso (two Spanish rounds as of this year). Several were also used in America in the 1970s and 1980s ad the country held up to three F1 races per year.

The non-national titles used are:

European Grand Prix (18 races)
United States Grand Prix West (eight races)*
United States Grand Prix East (eight races)*
Pacific Grand Prix (two races)
Pescara Grand Prix (one race)

*Also referred to as the USA Grand Prix (Dallas), USA Grand Prix (Detroit), USA Grand Prix (Las Vegas) and USA Grand Prix (Long Beach).

Two countries have leant their names to Grands Prix without ever holding an F1 race within their borders. The ??San Marino Grand Prix? was held at Imola in Italy from 1981-2006. And the ??Luxembourg Grand Prix? was held at the Nurburgring in Germany from 1997-8.

The Swiss Grand Prix was held at Dijon-Prenois in France in 1982. But that race had also been held at Bremgarten in the 1950s, before the Swiss outlawed motor racing following the 1955 Le Mans Disaster.

Car numbers

Unsurprisingly, the most common number to be found on the front of a Grand prix-winning car is ??1?. Car number one has won 148 Grands Prix. The next most successful number is five ?ǣ as demonstrated by Fernando Alonso last weekend ?ǣ with 120 wins, followed by two (76)

The lowest number never to have been found on the front of winning car is 13, though that is largely because the number has hardly ever been used in F1 (it?s time someone tackled that nonsense superstition and raced number 13 I think).

The next lowest number not to have won a race is 29. The highest number to have won a world championship event is 101 ?ǣ Alberto Ascari in the 1952 German Grand Prix.

The above data includes the 11 Indianapolis 500s from 1950-1960 which counted towards the world championship but were not official Grands Prix.

2008 Singapore GP stats and facts

25 comments on “800 F1 Grands Prix in numbers”

Jump to comment page: 1 2
  1. Lustigson – good point about Williams. They marked their 500th race at Monza but as I wrote here you can count them up a couple of different ways. For example, do you count Indy ’05, when they were present but didn’t start? In this article I’ve used the data from Forix which does include weekends such as that where they participated but didn’t start the race.

    Scott Joslin – I don’t think so, no.

    Mr Soap – great point about Bourdais, Coulthard and Webber!

    Aidan – Fixed, thanks.

    And thanks to everyone for the compliments too :-)

  2. Does Honda’s 85 starts include their starts in the mid-60s?

  3. MrPippy – yes.

  4. I wonder how much longer before we see an Asian win – would Nakajima even be able to fluke one? Shame that given Japan’s long history in F1, for Asia, they’ve not been able to score a win…unless maybe there was a chart of Wins by Engine? ;-)

  5. If Hamilton wins the championship I wonder if we’ll have two Grand Prix’s in Britain. Somehow I doubt it.

Jump to comment page: 1 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.