Brazilian GP facts and statistics

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Felipe Massa scored his fourth career hat-trick and second home win
Felipe Massa scored his fourth career hat-trick and second home win

Felipe Massa dominated in Brazil and joined three of his countrymen in becoming a two-time winner of his home Grand Prix.

Here are more facts and stats from the Brazilian Grand Prix.

First thing’s first – Lewis Hamilton won the drivers’ championship and Ferrari won the constructors’ championship. See those two articles for the full statistics on their achievements.

Ignoring the championship, Felipe Massa’s Brazilian Grand Prix was perfect. He started from pole position, set fastest lap and won the race. It is is fourth ‘hat-trick’.

Massa won his home race for the second time. It should have been his third, but he gave the lead to Kimi Raikkonen last year, allowing Raikkonen to be champion. No Brazilian has won his home race more than twice: Massa shares the record with Emerson Fittipaldi, Nelson Piquet and Ayrton Senna.

With David Coulthard’s retirement, Massa is the only active driver to have won his home race twice. Stirling Moss is the only other driver two have won his home race twice (or more) without winning the championship.

Massa’s 11th win gives him as many as Jacques Villeneuve, who was his team mate in 2005.

Massa’s 15th pole position means he now has one fewer than team mate Kimi Raikkonen. However Massa’s 11 fastest laps are 24 short of Raikkonen’s tally.

Raikkonen set ten fastest laps this year, matching his record of 2005, shared with Michael Schumacher in 2004. Raikkonen also finished third in the final three races.

Fernando Alonso finished on the podium without winning the race for the first time this year.

Jarno Trulli achieved his best qualifying position of the year – second – and his first front-row start since the 2005 French Grand Prix.

More on the championship statistics will follow in the 2008 F1 season review.