Brazilian GP facts and statistics

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Felipe Massa scored his fourth career hat-trick and second home win
Felipe Massa scored his fourth career hat-trick and second home win

Felipe Massa dominated in Brazil and joined three of his countrymen in becoming a two-time winner of his home Grand Prix.

Here are more facts and stats from the Brazilian Grand Prix.

First thing’s first – Lewis Hamilton won the drivers’ championship and Ferrari won the constructors’ championship. See those two articles for the full statistics on their achievements.

Ignoring the championship, Felipe Massa’s Brazilian Grand Prix was perfect. He started from pole position, set fastest lap and won the race. It is is fourth ‘hat-trick’.

Massa won his home race for the second time. It should have been his third, but he gave the lead to Kimi Raikkonen last year, allowing Raikkonen to be champion. No Brazilian has won his home race more than twice: Massa shares the record with Emerson Fittipaldi, Nelson Piquet and Ayrton Senna.

With David Coulthard’s retirement, Massa is the only active driver to have won his home race twice. Stirling Moss is the only other driver two have won his home race twice (or more) without winning the championship.

Massa’s 11th win gives him as many as Jacques Villeneuve, who was his team mate in 2005.

Massa’s 15th pole position means he now has one fewer than team mate Kimi Raikkonen. However Massa’s 11 fastest laps are 24 short of Raikkonen’s tally.

Raikkonen set ten fastest laps this year, matching his record of 2005, shared with Michael Schumacher in 2004. Raikkonen also finished third in the final three races.

Fernando Alonso finished on the podium without winning the race for the first time this year.

Jarno Trulli achieved his best qualifying position of the year – second – and his first front-row start since the 2005 French Grand Prix.

More on the championship statistics will follow in the 2008 F1 season review.

27 comments on “Brazilian GP facts and statistics”

Jump to comment page: 1 2
  1. keepF1technical
    4th November 2008, 12:52

    has anybody else noticed the anomaly between mclaren and ferrari tactics and their statistics:

    maclaren, the ‘team’ outfit allowing drivers to race each other for the benefit of the team have won not so many constructors crowns (8) but more drivers titles (12).

    ferrari, the ‘no.1 driver’ outfit have not faired as well proportionally with their drivers championships (15), and in the constructors table (16)

    ironic? or is there something in these statistics?
    does this suggest ferrari have somehow thrown driver titles by their tactics, or mclaren thrown constructors by their tactics?

  2. @keepF1Technical

    Ferrari have always had equal driver policy except for the 10-year Schumacher era.
    I particularly like their strategy which is supposedly : Drivers can race till the 2nd pitstop after which they are supposed to keep positions. I read in some news article.

  3. Becken, great dig up. I also remember that most people expected Kimi and Ferrari walk it. A lot of people say that McLaren clearly has the better car these two seasons just to belittle Hamilton. But it is closer to the truth to say that Ferraris more often than not has had the edge. Hamilton’s win is massive considering the expectations.

    What word will have the suffix ‘-gate’ added to it? Lewis.

    brilliant:D Mosley comes close though with Spanking-gate

  4. Jian – I´m just waiting to receive any credit for that… lol

    Another point was my prediction about Timo Glock:

    What will be the biggest surprise of the year? TOYOTA WITH TIMO!

    God bless him!

  5. Hamilton fought with Ferrari engines all day, but never once met Kimi or Felipe on the track.

  6. David Watkins
    4th November 2008, 20:13

    I’m just mulling some all-time stats now the season is over. Poor old Massa is now fourth in the all-time list of “Most Gtand Prix wins without winning a Championshp”

    Stirling Moss 16

    David Coulthard 13

    Carlos Reutemann 12

    Felipe Massa 11

    Ronnie Peterson 10
    Gerhard Berger

    Rubens Barrichello 9

    Jacky Ickx 8

    Rene Arnoux 7
    Juan-Pablo Montoya

    Tony Brooks 6
    Jacques Laffite
    Gilles Villeneuve
    Ricardo Patrese
    Ralf Schumacher

  7. Try InfoRace
    great, but Stats 08 portuguese only

Jump to comment page: 1 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.