2009 F1 driver and car numbers

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

With the final F1 drivers’ and constructors’ points settled we can now work out who will carry which numbers in 2009.

As the titles have been won by different teams, this means next year the number ‘1’ will not be on the constructors’ championship-winning car for the first time since 2007, when Fernando Alonso sported it.

Williams will use numbers 16 and 17 next year, as they did last year. To find the time they last used higher number you have to go back before 1996, when car numbers were last issued based on championship finishing position, to 1980. That year Alan Jones and Carlos Reutemann used 27 and 28.

Luca di Montezemolo vowed to get the number 1 back for 2010:

[Lewis Hamilton will] have the number 1 on his car next season, but he can rest assured of one thing: we’ll be doing our very best to put it back on a Ferrari.

Full list of expected 2009 F1 team and car numbers: 2009 F1 drivers and teams