2009 F1 driver and car numbers

With the final F1 drivers’ and constructors’ points settled we can now work out who will carry which numbers in 2009.

As the titles have been won by different teams, this means next year the number ‘1’ will not be on the constructors’ championship-winning car for the first time since 2007, when Fernando Alonso sported it.

Williams will use numbers 16 and 17 next year, as they did last year. To find the time they last used higher number you have to go back before 1996, when car numbers were last issued based on championship finishing position, to 1980. That year Alan Jones and Carlos Reutemann used 27 and 28.

Luca di Montezemolo vowed to get the number 1 back for 2010:

[Lewis Hamilton will] have the number 1 on his car next season, but he can rest assured of one thing: we’ll be doing our very best to put it back on a Ferrari.

Full list of expected 2009 F1 team and car numbers: 2009 F1 drivers and teams

Promoted content from around the web | Become an F1 Fanatic Supporter to hide this ad and others

Advert | Go Ad-free

30 comments on 2009 F1 driver and car numbers

  1. Keith Collantine (@keithcollantine) said on 6th November 2008, 20:29

    XVII? How do you pronounce that?

  2. beneboy said on 6th November 2008, 22:32

    Thanks Nick !

  3. Dario said on 7th November 2008, 9:12

    Hi Keith, the Roman number XVII is your 17th. Michael Counsell is right, XVII has the same letters of VIXI the latin word wich means “I lived” (I am dead).
    There are many other popular superstitions due to Christianity.
    Greetings from Italy.

  4. Keith Collantine (@keithcollantine) said on 7th November 2008, 9:18

    Dario – Ah I get it. Thanks!

  5. the numbers are decided by who finishes where in the constructors so say frerrari was 1st they would get 1,2 and if maclaren was 2nd it would be 3,4 ect thats why they had 19,20 this year as they had all the constructor points deducted

  6. It will be nice to see number 1 on Lewis’s car in 2009

  7. wy can’t they choose they’re own number. Everyone choose they’re number one after the other starting whit the one that got the higher point last year

  8. Tony Nguyen (@iipatch) said on 27th May 2012, 15:38

    If the champion doesn’t enter the next championship, what happens to the number 1 car?

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.

Skip to toolbar