Sebastien Loeb takes third Race of Champions title from David Coulthard

Posted on Author Keith Collantine

Sebastien Loeb won the Race of Champions for the third time after beating David Coulthard in the final race by less than a third of a second.

Loeb beat Coulthard 2-1 in the finals, winning both races in the Race of Champions buggies while Coulthard won in the KTM X-bow.

Loeb reached the final after beating Red Bull star Sebastian Vettel in the quarter-finals. In the semi-finals he knocked out Andy Priaulx, the multiple world touring car champion having narrowly defeated 2007 Race of Champions winner Mattias Ekstrom.

Coulthard’s quarter final opponent was Tanner Foust, the American drift racer spinning on the final lap. In the quarters Coulthard took on Carl Edwards – the NASCAR driver having caused an upset in the previous round by eliminating Michael Schumacher.

Coulthard only narrowly won his semi-final after crashing at the final corner and damaging his front right wheel. He managed to drag his broken car across the line before Edwards caught up.

Schumacher and Vettel were victorious together for Germany in the Nations’ Cup which took place before the individuals’ event.