F1 2009: When they last won a race

F1 rookie Sebastien Buemi's last win was in GP2 last year

F1 rookie Sebastien Buemi's last win was in GP2 last year

With the value of winning races such an explosive issue at the moment I thought it would be a good idea to revise a post I first did two years ago.

Heading into the 2007, I thought it would be interesting to see how long ago it was since each driver on the grid last won a race.

Some of them, of course, have never won an F1 race – in fact one of them hasn’t won an international motor race since before the new millennium…


Lewis Hamilton

2008 Chinese Grand Prix
14.925s ahead of Felipe Massa

Heikki Kovalainen

2008 Hungarian Grand Prix
11.061s ahead of Timo Glock


Felipe Massa

2008 Brazilian Grand Prix
13.298s ahead of Fernando Alonso

Kimi Raikkonen

2008 Spanish Grand Prix
3.228s ahead of Felipe Massa


Robert Kubica

2008 Canadian Grand Prix
16.495s ahead of Nick Heidfeld

Nick Heidlfeld

1999 F3000 A1-Ring
West Competition Team Lola B99/50
8.957s ahead of Soheil Ayari


Fernando Alonso

2008 Japanese Grand Prix
5.283s ahead of Robert Kubica

Nelson Piquet Jnr

2006 GP2 Istanbul Feature Race
Piquet Sports GP2 Dallara
17.879s ahead of Lewis Hamilton


Jarno Trulli

2004 Monaco Grand Prix
0.497s ahead of Jenson Button

Timo Glock

2007 GP2 Valencia Ricardo Tormo Sprint Race
iSport GP2 Dallara
5.474s ahead of Javier Villa

Toro Rosso

Sebastien Buemi

2008 GP2 Hungaroring Sprint Race
Arden GP2 Dallara
7.978s ahead of Andy Soucek

Sebastien Bourdais

2007 Champ Car World Series, Mexico City
Neman/Haas/Lanigan Panoz DP01
1.906s ahead of Will Power

Red Bull

Mark Webber

2001 F3000 Magny-Cours
Super Nova Lola B99/50
7.454s ahead of Justin Wilson

Sebastian Vettel

2008 Italian Grand Prix
Toro Rosso
12.512s ahead of Heikki Kovalainen


Nico Rosberg

2005 GP2 Bahrain Sprint Race
ART GP2 Dallara
8.335s ahead of Ernesto Viso

Kazuki Nakajima

2006 F3 Euroseries Lausitzring Reverse-grid race
Manor Motorsport Dallara Mercedes
7.423s ahead of Richard Antinucci

Brawn GP

Rubens Barrichello

2004 Chinese Grand Prix
1.035s ahead of Jenson Button

Jenson Button

2006 Hungarian Grand Prix
30.837s ahead of Pedro de la Rosa

Force India F1 Team

Adrian Sutil

2006 Japanese F3, Fuji Speedway (race four)
TOM’s Dallara F305-Toyota
2.491s ahead of Kazuya Oshima

Giancarlo Fisichella

2006 Malaysian Grand Prix
4.585s ahead of Fernando Alonso

Image (C) GP2 / Glenn Dunbar

Advert | Go Ad-free


43 comments on F1 2009: When they last won a race

  1. Rubens and Jenson are switched.

  2. Rubens/Jenson are the wrong way round

  3. You have got Barichello’s win mixed up with Buttons

  4. qazuhb said on 19th March 2009, 16:14

    If they were not switched that would be FAST, Jenson ahead of himself by over a whole second! :)

  5. Clare msj said on 19th March 2009, 16:15

    Oooh Heidfeld, its been a while since he won! And there’s me convinced he will be fighting for the title this year! I’ve still got my faith in him this season – will make it even better when he does win a race because he hasnt done so for aaages(I am positive he will win at least one this year! :D )

    • David@Geelong said on 20th March 2009, 2:17

      He nearly made it at the Canadian round in 2008.
      Came in second to Kubica. Heidfeld let him passed if my memory is correct.

  6. el Diablo said on 19th March 2009, 16:16

    Interesting article- I’d never considered how strange it must be for the likes of Heidfeld and Webber to go so long without any sort of race win. You’d probably consider those two, along with Nico Rosberg or Timo Glock, most likely to win their first F1 race in 2009.

    In reality though I can’t see anyone breaking their duck this year, which would make 2009 the first ‘no new winner’ year since 2005.

  7. Scott Joslin said on 19th March 2009, 16:33

    Wow, that has to play on Nick’s mind. I wonder if he has even won a race on his PS3?

    Weber is having a drought too

    Keith – what was the date of that Sutil win?

  8. Loki said on 19th March 2009, 16:55

    10 years without a race win, that’s harsh – can you even remember what its like to win. Of course, being F1 drivers it shouldn’t be a problem given the right machine, but you wonder if they were ever in the situation of being out in front would they bottle it? I doubt it, they’re F1 drivers…but 10 years…if I don’t play badminton for 2 weeks I feel pressure when I’m in the lead!

  9. ajokay said on 19th March 2009, 17:04

    Poor Nick and Mark. Imagine being a racing driver and not have won a race for so long. I feel sorry for them now.

    Heres to both of them fighting for the championship this year.

    Funny to see that the last race that Piquet won was ahead of a 2nd place Lewis Hamilton. I bet he wishes for those days back again.

    • Phil said on 19th March 2009, 20:18

      Thing is, that GP2 race was the one where hamilton stormed from 16th place to 2nd after spinning at the start.

    • Mr Soap said on 19th March 2009, 20:41

      Phil –

      Well, not quite, that was the sprint race, Piquet won the Feature race the day before. The Sprint race he finished 5th, I believe.

  10. KingHamilton said on 19th March 2009, 17:05

    I think the reason why Heidfeld hasnt won a race is because up until last season He had never had a car which was capable of winning. And even lasts season he would of had to get through Ferrari and Mclaren, or have a bit of luck like Kubica and Alonso did last year.

    I hope Heidfeld wins a race this year, I want to see him in the Championship race!

  11. Dougie said on 19th March 2009, 17:06

    Yeah, Nick & Marks drought coincide with them moving to F1 pretty much into uncompetitive machinery.

    However, Nakajima’s… does that really count as a win, being reverse grid and all… Did he ever win a race from a fastest first grid start?

    • No, Nakajima’s best from a “fastest first” start was second. But he showed reasonably well in GP2 (top rookie in 2007 with five podiums) and, although Nico Rosberg has generally had the upper hand, he hasn’t exactly blown Kazuki into the weeds.

  12. im hoping Kubica will be fighting for the championship this year, despite his weight disadvantage

  13. tifosi4eva said on 19th March 2009, 17:09

    Heya everyone, I have returned ready for action in the new season!
    It is interesting when you compare the wins, for example Heidfeld has become a regular poduim attender but has not won a race for almost ten years! That is just astonishing. Then you have the likes of Vettel, where he has already won a formula1 race but that is the only time he has ever been on the podium in formula 1.

  14. Internet said on 19th March 2009, 17:20

    @ajokay: Hamilton spun in that race, and had to fight back to the 2nd place from the back of the field. Much more impressive performance than Piquet in that context.

  15. Internet said on 19th March 2009, 17:21

    Of course, on the other hand not so impressive considering he shouldn’t have spun in the first place.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.

Skip to toolbar