Spanish Grand Prix facts and stats

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Webber matched Brabham as Australia's most experienced F1 driver
Webber matched Brabham as Australia's most experienced F1 driver

The wins continue to pile up for Jenson Button and Brawn GP – and Nick Heidfeld continues to grind out astonishing, if unspectacular, consistency.

It was also a landmark race for Mark Webber, who matched three-times champion Sir Jack Brabham as the Australian driver to have started the most races. Here’s the facts and stats from the Spanish Grand Prix.

Jenson Button hit the five wins landmark, giving him as many as world champions Keke Rosberg and Giuseppe Farina, plus Clay Regazzoni, John Watson and Michele Alboreto.

He finished on the podium for the fifth race in a row and scored his sixth career pole position. Button has now led exactly 250 laps in his career.

Rubens Barrichello claimed the fastest lap, his 17th. He has more than any other active driver bar Kimi Raikkonen, who has more than twice as many (35).

Brawn GP achieved their second one-two finish.

Mark Webber scored the fourth podium finish of his career. He also made his 126th start, tying Sir Jack Brabham’s record for most start by an Australian driver. Like Brabham, Webber has participated in 128 rounds, but failed to start twice (Spain 2002 and USA 2005).

Brabham won 14 races and was champion in 1959, 1960 and 1966. While Webber has been in F1 for eight years, Brabham’s career spanned 16 seasons from 1955 to 1970 (though he started only one each in 1955 and 1956).

Felipe Massa finally got some points on the board with sixth place. This is his worst start to a season since 2005, when he scored two points for Sauber in the first five races.

Kimi Raikkonen has now not won a race for a year. He had his worst qualifying result since the 2006 season-opener at Bahrain, when he started 22nd.

McLaren had their worst qualifying performance since the 2005 Japanese Grand Prix, when Raikkonen and Juan Pablo Montoya started 17th and 18th.

Heikki Kovalainen suffered his fourth race-ending mechanical failure in a McLaren in 23 starts for the team. Lewis Hamilton has had none in 40 starts (and nor, for that matter, did Fernando Alonso).

Adrian Sutil was eliminated on the first lap, just as he was at this track last year, when he collided with Sebastian Vettel at turn four.

Robert Kubica failed to score for the sixth race in a row (including the final race of 2008) making this his longest point-less streak. He previously failed to score between the 2006 Chinese and 2007 Malaysian Grands Prix.

Nick Heidfeld continues to stretch his longevity records, with 25 consecutive race finishes and 33 consecutive race classifications. Heidfeld celebrated his 32nd birthday on race day.

Spotted any more stats and facts from the Spanish Grand Prix? Make sure we don’t miss them – post them in the comments.

Read more: Championship standings after Spanish GP