Spanish Grand Prix facts and stats

Webber matched Brabham as Australia's most experienced F1 driver

Webber matched Brabham as Australia's most experienced F1 driver

The wins continue to pile up for Jenson Button and Brawn GP – and Nick Heidfeld continues to grind out astonishing, if unspectacular, consistency.

It was also a landmark race for Mark Webber, who matched three-times champion Sir Jack Brabham as the Australian driver to have started the most races. Here’s the facts and stats from the Spanish Grand Prix.

Jenson Button hit the five wins landmark, giving him as many as world champions Keke Rosberg and Giuseppe Farina, plus Clay Regazzoni, John Watson and Michele Alboreto.

He finished on the podium for the fifth race in a row and scored his sixth career pole position. Button has now led exactly 250 laps in his career.

Rubens Barrichello claimed the fastest lap, his 17th. He has more than any other active driver bar Kimi Raikkonen, who has more than twice as many (35).

Brawn GP achieved their second one-two finish.

Mark Webber scored the fourth podium finish of his career. He also made his 126th start, tying Sir Jack Brabham’s record for most start by an Australian driver. Like Brabham, Webber has participated in 128 rounds, but failed to start twice (Spain 2002 and USA 2005).

Brabham won 14 races and was champion in 1959, 1960 and 1966. While Webber has been in F1 for eight years, Brabham’s career spanned 16 seasons from 1955 to 1970 (though he started only one each in 1955 and 1956).

Felipe Massa finally got some points on the board with sixth place. This is his worst start to a season since 2005, when he scored two points for Sauber in the first five races.

Kimi Raikkonen has now not won a race for a year. He had his worst qualifying result since the 2006 season-opener at Bahrain, when he started 22nd.

McLaren had their worst qualifying performance since the 2005 Japanese Grand Prix, when Raikkonen and Juan Pablo Montoya started 17th and 18th.

Heikki Kovalainen suffered his fourth race-ending mechanical failure in a McLaren in 23 starts for the team. Lewis Hamilton has had none in 40 starts (and nor, for that matter, did Fernando Alonso).

Adrian Sutil was eliminated on the first lap, just as he was at this track last year, when he collided with Sebastian Vettel at turn four.

Robert Kubica failed to score for the sixth race in a row (including the final race of 2008) making this his longest point-less streak. He previously failed to score between the 2006 Chinese and 2007 Malaysian Grands Prix.

Nick Heidfeld continues to stretch his longevity records, with 25 consecutive race finishes and 33 consecutive race classifications. Heidfeld celebrated his 32nd birthday on race day.

Spotted any more stats and facts from the Spanish Grand Prix? Make sure we don’t miss them – post them in the comments.

Read more: Championship standings after Spanish GP

Advert | Go Ad-free


45 comments on Spanish Grand Prix facts and stats

  1. Eduardo said on 11th May 2009, 23:56

    Brawn GP is now the only team to have scored a point in every race this season (both Toyota’s failed to score a point).

    I don’t know if this is a record yet, but isn’t Jenson Button on track to have the best improvement from one season to another? His tally is already 12x higher than his total number of points last season…

    • Bas said on 12th May 2009, 15:10

      Button may do so total-number-of-points-wise, but he won´t beat ´Keke´ Rosberg in percentage increase, or the final result: The season before the one in which Rosberg claimed the WDC he failed to score a single point!

  2. mire said on 12th May 2009, 0:24

    Every season a driver has won four from the first five GP, he later became the season World Champion. It happened in :
    – 1963 and 1965 (Jim Clark)
    – 1969 (Jackie Stewart)
    – 1991 (Ayrton Senna)
    – 1992 (Nigell Mansell)
    – 1994, 2002 and 2004 (Michael Schumacher)
    – 1996 (Damon Hill)
    And 4 of them were Brits !

  3. Damon said on 12th May 2009, 1:20

    No, he has to cover more than 90% of the distance covered by the winner.

    Oh, sorry for telling it wrong. I didn’t know that. ;]

    @ mire
    It doesn’t look like anyone could steal the championship away from Button this season, does it?

    • Patrickl said on 12th May 2009, 10:16

      Well, Red Bull is coming with a big update for Monaco. If they win all races from then on and Webber comes behind Vettel, a lot could still happen

  4. Dex said on 12th May 2009, 12:20

    I think Vettel could be a champ, but don’t write off Ferrari and Mclaren!

  5. Bob said on 12th May 2009, 12:55

    Hi All,

    please can anyone advise. How did Massa end up with a points finish, I thought a driver had to finish the lap (if they are on the same lap as the race leader) and only drivers + 1 lap are allocated places even if they don’t cross the finish line.


    • I remember ‘MAS’ appearing on the screen just before ‘HEI’ did. So he must have crossed the finish line.

    • Garon said on 12th May 2009, 16:14

      Massa finished the race, he ran out of fuel around turn 3 I think on the lap back to the pits.

    • LewisC said on 13th May 2009, 3:14

      Correct. Just goes to show how urgent it was for him to lift off and let Vettel and Alonso past. :)

  6. martinb said on 13th May 2009, 20:00

    The first three on the left side of the grid finished 1, 2, 3.

    The first three on the right side of the grid finished 4, 6, 10.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.