2009 Turkish Grand Prix facts and stats

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Kovalainen finished 14th - McLaren's season goes from bad to worse
Kovalainen finished 14th - McLaren's season goes from bad to worse

Four consecutive wins for Jenson Button – three consecutive no-scores for McLaren. Here’s the Turkish Grand Prix in numbers.

Jenson Button’s winning streak continues – he’s now won four in a row – the last person to do that was Fernando Alonso in the 2006 Spanish, Monaco, British and French Grands Prix:

Button scored his seventh Grand Prix victory, giving him as many wins as Rene Arnoux and Juan Pablo Montoya. He also set the fastest lap for only the second time in his career.

Sebastian Vettel was on pole position for the third time in his career. It was the first time he’d done so in a dry qualifying session and the first time he didn’t go on to win the race. It was also the first time the Turkish Grand Prix was won by a driver other than the pole sitter.

Mark Webber was on the podium for the fifth time, matching his career-best finish of second from this year’s Chinese Grand Prix. The record for most podium finishes without a win is 12, jointly held by Nick Heidfeld and Stefan Johansson.

Webber has closed the gap to Vettel for third in the championship having beaten him in the last three races:

Formula 1 World Drivers' Championship Top 4 (click to enlarge)
Formula 1 World Drivers' Championship Top 4 (click to enlarge)

McLaren haven’t scored in the last three races. That hasn’t happened since 2004, when David Coulthard and Kimi Raikkonen finshed out of the top eight in the Spanish, Monaco and European rounds.

It almost goes without saying that Heidfeld extended his run of consecutive finishes – he’s now on 35.

Nico Rosberg scored his best result of the season so far with fifth, and Robert Kubica finished in the points for the first time this year. Kubica ended a seven-race streak without finishing in the points, the longest of his career.

One stat we overlooked after Monaco was Rubens Barrichello becoming the driver to have completed the most F1 race laps. He has now raced 13,988, surpassing Michael Schumacher’s 13,909.

Spot any more interesting facts and stats from the Turkish Grand Prix? Post them below…

More F1 statistics