German Grand Prix stats and facts

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Piquet just has to out-qualify Alonso in the next 25 races to get even
Piquet just has to out-qualify Alonso in the next 25 races to get even

There’s one big fat obvious reason why the German Grand Prix was a landmark race.

But a few other points of interest popped up as well: Nelson Piquet Jnr finally out-qualified his team mate and Force India had by far their best qualifying performance ever. Still no points, though…

Mark Webber scored his first Grand Prix victory – more stats on that here: Mark Webber finally wins an F1 race

He is the 102nd different driver to win a Grand Prix and the 93rd to take pole position. It was his first front row start this year.

All three Grand Prix winners from Australia can claim a victory in Germany: Jack Brabham in 1966 on the Nordschleife and Alan Jones in 1979 on the Hockenheimring.

Red Bull had their third one-two, giving them as many as Brawn, all of which were scored this year. Ten other constructors have scored more.

Red Bull scored their first win at the only circuit where their predecessors Stewart won a Grand Prix, with Johnny Herbert ten years earlier. On that occasion Rubens Barrichello was driving for the team and finished third behind Jarno Trulli.

Fernando Alonso made the 12th fastest lap of his career, giving him as many as Alberto Ascari, Jack Brabham, Rene Arnoux, Juan Pablo Montoya and Felipe Massa. It was his first since the 2007 Italian Grand Prix.

Brawn failed to get a car on the podium for the first time in their history, and with no McLarens or Force Indias there too it meant no podium for a Mercedes-powered car for the first time this year.

Heikki Kovalainen started from his best qualifying position of the year – sixth. McLaren took the third row of the grid, their best qualifying performance in 2009.

Adrian Sutil achieved his and Force India’s best ever starting position with seventh. His previous best was 15th.

Felipe Massa reached the podium for the first time this year. He has now finished in the points in the last five races.

Nelson Piquet Jnr out-qualified Fernando Alonso for the first time since they became team mates. The score is now 26-1 to Alonso.

Rumours suggest Sebastien Bourdais will be dropped by Toro Rosso this week. So far this year he has been beaten 7-2 by Buemi in qualifying, and 3-2 in races where both have finished.

Jenson Button kept up his record of scoring a point in every race and finishing every lap so far this year. He has now scored exactly 300 points in his F1 career.

Despite scoring only a sixth and a fifth in the last two races, his lead over the second placed driver in the championship has fallen by just five points from 26 (over Barrichello) to 21 (over Vettel).

This was the 16th Grand Prix on the ‘new’ Nurburgring, but only the second time it has held the German Grand Prix. It has previously held the European Grand Prix 12 times (1984, 1995-1996 and 1999-2007), the Luxembourg Grand Prix (cough) twice (1997-1998) and the German Grand Prix just once (1985).

Finally, after much discussion on the live blog we decided the last time a driver won a race despite being given a penalty was Michael Schumacher at Magny-Cours in 2002. If anyone can think of a more recent example, please post it below!

Have you spotted any other stats and facts from the German Grand Prix? Post them below…

74 comments on “German Grand Prix stats and facts”

Jump to comment page: 1 2
  1. James Bolton
    13th July 2009, 19:15

    Surprisingly, Jenson Button has only had three German Grand’s Prix that have yielded a poorer result then the P5 he got on Sunday:

    2002 – Ret
    2003 – 8th
    2008 – 17th

  2. James Bolton
    13th July 2009, 19:20

    Jenson now has 9 points finishes in a row. Jim Clark had 12 which I think is the British record.
    The overall record is Schumacher who had 24 in 2001 – 2003.

  3. michael counsell
    13th July 2009, 19:51

    Alonso was the 7th driver to get a fastest lap this year and Renault were the sixth different manufacturer.

  4. Sergio de la Torre
    13th July 2009, 23:41

    Alonso did 5 laps in 1:33 when he wasn’t blocked by traffic (from his last stop to the back of Brawns)

    L48 1:33.744
    L49 1:33.365 (fastest lap)
    L50 1:33.526
    L51 1:33.749
    L52 1:33.777

    Trulli was the other driver in 1:33 with 1 lap (1:33.654)

  5. Worst Alonso performance ever in qualifying! Piquet’s car was at least 0.5sec slower due not getting the updates again. Pat Symonds must be coming under some pressure by now surely …. those starts … remember the old days of Renault starts with Trulli overtaking half the grid to the first turn?

    1. And then they banned launch control…

      Frankly, it was a good call to make – this should be about best drivers in the world…

  6. Micheal Parkes was 6’4″ so I think must the tallest F1 winner. Dan Gurney must be taller than Webber.

    1. I don’t think Mike Parkes ever won a world championship F1 race. I’ve had a look on Forix and it says he had two seconds in 1966, but no wins…

  7. wong chin kong
    14th July 2009, 14:28

    Red Bull is the only and first team to date in F1 2009 to have BOTH drivers winning at least a race each. (Red bull race winners: Vettel(2) Webber(1); Brawn race winner: Button (6) Rubens(0).

  8. Well done Mark. This was a great race to win. Its a shame what happened to Lewis at the start, he had such a good oppertunity with the upgraded car. aww well we’ll see what happens next time. excited to see how the season finishes!

Jump to comment page: 1 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.