2009 European Grand Prix stats and facts

Rubens Barrichello scored the 100th Grand Prix win for a Brazilian

Rubens Barrichello scored the 100th Grand Prix win for a Brazilian

The European Grand Prix saw Rubens Barrichello’s first win for almost five years, and the 100th race victory for a Brazilian driver.

Here’s the stats and facts round-up from the European Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton started from pole position for the 14th time, giving him as many front spot starts as Alberto Ascari, James Hunt and Ronnie Peterson. He has jumped from 11th in the championship standings after Germany to sixth.

Heikki Kovalainen joined him on the front row of the grid giving McLaren their 59th one-two. Only Ferrari (70) and Williams (61) have more. Renault are fourth with 22.

McLaren and Mercedes started their 250th race together. Their first was the 1995 Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos, where Mika Hakkinen and Mark Blundell finished fourth and sixth respectively. Since then they have won three drivers championships (Hakkinen in 1998 and 1999, Hamilton last year), one constructors’ championship (1998) and 59 Grands Prix.

It was also the first time two different Mercedes-powered cars appeared on the podium – McLaren and Brawn. (It had briefly been so at Melbourne before Hamilton’s disqualification).

Rubens Barrichello won his tenth Grand Prix, giving him as many as James Hunt, Ronnie Peterson, Jody Scheckter, Gerhard Berger and the man he narrowly beat – Lewis Hamilton. It was also his first win for a team other than Ferrari.

It was the 100th Grand Prix win for a Brazilian driver. The first was scored by Emerson Fittipaldi for Lotus in the 1970 United States Grand Prix at Watkins Glen. There have been 28 different Brazilian drivers in Formula 1, but only six won races:

Driver Wins
Ayrton Senna 41
Nelson Piquet 23
Emerson Fittipaldi 14
Felipe Massa 11
Rubens Barrichello 10
Carlos Pace 1

Only two countries have won more F1 races than Brazil: Great Britain (206) and Germany (106).

Fourth on the list is France with 79, but the last Frenchman to win a Grand Prix was Olivier Panis at Monaco in 1996. At Valencia Romain Grosjean became the 70th French driver to start a race.

Fastest lap went to Timo Glock for the first time in his F1 career. He is the 117th driver to set a fastest lap.

Luca Badoer returned to an F1 cockpit after an absence of nine years, nine months and 24 days – the second-longest break of all time, second only to Jan Lammers (10 years, three months). He became the first Italian to drive for Ferrari since Nicola Larini in 1994.

Unfortunately he was also the first Ferrari driver to qualify last for a Grand Prix since Felipe Massa at Monaco in 2006. Massa crashed early in the session, but it was his Ferrari team mate Michael Schumacher who started from the back after being penalised for blocking the circuit.

And Badoer increased his record for most F1 starts without a point, reaching 49. (Read more about Badoer’s records).

Bridgestone recorded their 150th win in Formula 1. However more than half of them – 79 – came in races where they faced no rival tyre manufacturer. These were in 1999-2000, and since 2007. Bridgestone officially returned to F1 in 1997 (having dabbled in the seventies) and went up against Goodyear in 1997-1998, and Michelin from 2001-2006.

Kimi Raikkonen started his 150th Grand Prix.

Spotted any more stats and facts? Share them in the comments!

Read more: Championship standings after Valencia

Advert | Go Ad-free


74 comments on 2009 European Grand Prix stats and facts

  1. Nomad Indian said on 24th August 2009, 22:05

    The first post on a “GP Facts and Stats” in which 3 F1’natics have been outhought by others in pointing out a stat, namely Matt, Ned Flanders and Hallard.
    Hope no one was just going to mention this stat.

  2. Daniel said on 24th August 2009, 22:25

    Just a few minor stats related to brazilian results in Formula 1:

    Rubens is the 5th brazilian and 30th driver to reach the 10 wins mark… the only country better represented in this list is obviously the UK, with Mansell, Stewart, Clark, D. Hill, Moss, G. Hill, Coulthard, Hunt and Hamilton, making 9 drivers in total…

    The only other countries with more than 1 driver are Austria (Lauda, Berger) Finland (Hakkinen, Raikkonen), Australia (Brabham, Jones) and Argentina (Fangio, Reutemann), with 2 each.

    Rubens win marks the fourth successive season with brazilian wins: 2006 (Massa – 2), 2007 (Massa – 3), 2008 (Massa – 6), 2009 (Barrichello – 1 – for now).

    This is the longest streak since the Senna-Piquet days (with successive wins from 1980 to 1993).

  3. Daniel said on 25th August 2009, 1:49

    Well, and obviously its the second Grand Prix in the Valencia Street Track, and both were won by brazilians:
    2008 – Felipe Massa
    2009 – Rubens Barrichello

  4. Giant21 said on 25th August 2009, 3:47

    Fun fact about Barrichello; he has never won a race in the first half a season (except 2002), which may explain why he never really contended a title (that and Michael Schumacher). Here’s a quick breakdown:

    2000: Germany (race 11/16)

    2002: Europe (race 9/17), Hungary (race 13), Italy and USA (races 15 and 16).

    2003: Great Britain (race 11/16), Japan (last race)

    2004: Italy and China (race 15 and 16/18)

    2009: Valencia (race 11/17)

  5. Lars said on 25th August 2009, 4:45

    2009 Grand Prix of Europe: 60th Podium For Kimi!

  6. mire said on 25th August 2009, 6:18

    Could GP winner and his team manager bearing the same initials (RB) be considered as a noteworthy fact ?
    Any example of this happening before ?

  7. Eero said on 28th August 2009, 9:58

    This was second time as Barrichello was only Brazilian taking part in the weekend. He has won both races.

    In Indianapolis 2002, there was three Brazilians in the beginning. Bernoldi was left without drive after Arrows withdrew and Massa was out for that race due to his collision and subsequent penalty.

    Again this year, three Brazilians at the start – Massa injured and Piquet being sacked left Barrichello as the only one.

  8. Also first race since Hockenheim 1994 where no former winners on the track were present – and race was held there previous year.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.