2009 Belgian Grand Prix facts and stats

Kimi Raikkonen has now won 18 F1 races

Kimi Raikkonen has now won 18 F1 races

OK, we all know about Force India’s first points.

But which driver reached his points century at Spa? And which are the only two drivers to win more Belgian Grands Prix than Kimi Raikkonen? Here are the facts and stats from yesterday’s race.

Kimi Raikkonen won his first Grand Prix in 26 races – his last win as at last year’s Spanish Grand Prix.

It was his fourth win in the Belgian Grand Prix, all of which have come in the last five races at the track. He was also leading last year’s race before crashing out with two laps to go.

Only two other drivers have won the Belgian Grand Prix more than four times: Michael Schumacher (six) and Ayrton Senna (five). All of those were on the modern Spa circuit. Jim Clark also won the Belgian Grand Prix four times from 1962-1965 on the old, 14.1km circuit.

It was Raikkonen’s 18th win. He has more than any other driver in F1 today bar Fernando Alonso, who has 21.

Sebastian Vettel set the fastest lap, the second of his career, in addition to the one he scored at Silverstone.

It was a huge weekend for Force India. On Saturday Giancarlo Fisichella gave them their first ever pole position. Before then their best qualifying position had been seventh, set by Adrian Sutil at the Nurburgring this year.

The last time this outfit started from pole position was in the European Grand Prix at the Nurburgring in 1999, when Heinz-Harald Frentzen put Jordan at the front of the grid.

In the race of course, they scored their first points and first podium finish. They also led a race for the first time – but only for four laps behind the safety car at the start.

Fisichella made it to the podium for the first time since the 2006 Japanese Grand Prix at Suzuka.

The first-lap pile-up brought Jenson Button’s points-scoring streak to an end after 11 races in the top eight. Nico Rosberg now has the longest running streak of points finishes with eight.

It was also Lewis Hamilton’s first failure to finish a race this year (though of course he was disqualified at Melbourne).

Like Fisichella and Raikkonen, Robert Kubica scored his best result of the year, with fourth.

Heikki Kovalainen has now scored exactly 100 points in his Formula 1 career.

We’ve now had six consecutive races with different winners (Button, Vettel, Webber, Hamilton, Barrichello and Raikkonen) and five with different pole sitters (Vettel, Webber, Alonso, Hamilton and Fisichella).

Have you spotted any interesting facts and stats from the Belgian Grand Prix? Share them in the commenets.

Read more

Advert | Go Ad-free


96 comments on 2009 Belgian Grand Prix facts and stats

  1. Raikkonen is the only driver in the current field to have won at Spa

  2. Hamilton Fan said on 1st September 2009, 2:27

    The season hasn’t finished yet. Now Force India have scored points, when was the last season that finished when all entered constructors scored points?

  3. sato113 said on 1st September 2009, 2:41

    when was the last time 3 driver’s couldn’t get their act together and take the bloody opportunity the WDC leader is giving them on a silver platter, and close the championship gap!!!??? fools!

    • Giant21 said on 1st September 2009, 3:12

      1982 would be a good example of a crazy year like this… hard to think of another one though.

      • mp4-19b said on 1st September 2009, 7:41

        Thats coz Gilles died at zolder, else he would have dominated in 1982 & won the WDC.

        • Not necessarily. Standings after Imola, which was Villeneuve’s last race. He was behind Pironi too who was injured later and eventual champion Rosberg at that point.

          1. Alain Prost 18
          2. Niki Lauda 12
          3. Didier Pironi 10
          4. Michele Alboreto 10
          5. Keke Rosberg 8
          6. John Watson 8
          7. Carlos Reutemann 6
          Gilles Villeneuve 6
          9. René Arnoux 4
          Nigel Mansell 4
          Riccardo Patrese 4
          12. Jean-Pierre Jarier 3
          13. Manfred Winkelhock 2
          Elio de Angelis 2
          15. Eliseo Salazar 1

          • Giant21 said on 1st September 2009, 14:59

            If Button does lose the title (though it’s very unlikely), this would look like the 1987 scenario, in which Mansell won six races but Piquet, with half that tally but more point finishes, took the title with two races to go.

            And they were teammates…

    • Mike "the bike" Schumacher said on 3rd September 2009, 22:21

      Alonso and Hamilton in 07

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.