Singapore becomes F1’s longest lap

2009 Singapore Grand Prix facts and stats

Nick Heidfeld was classified in every Grand Prix since Indianapolis 2007

Nick Heidfeld was classified in every Grand Prix since Indianapolis 2007

For years, Spa-Francorchamps was the circuit F1 drivers take longest to complete a lap of. But changes to Singapore means it now takes a second longer than Spa for the F1 cars to lap, despite being almost 2km shorter.

During this year’s race Adrian Sutil brought Nick Heidfeld’s record of consecutive finishes to a crashing halt. Read on for more facts and stats from the Singapore Grand Prix.

Hamilton on top

Lewis Hamilton won the 11th Grand Prix of his career. That gives him as many wins as Jacques Villeneuve, Felipe Massa and Rubens Barrichello – the latter scoring his 11th win in the preceding race.

He now has 16 pole positions, as many as Stirling Moss and Kimi Raikkonen. He needs two more to match the tally of the leading active driver, Fernando Alonso, who has 18.

It was also Hamilton’s 25th career podium finish and he has led more laps than any driver this year apart from Jenson Button.

Alonso notched up the 13th fastest lap of his career, giving him as many as Jacky Ickx, Alan Jones and Riccardo Patrese.

Singapore gets slower

The changes to the Singapore circuit means it now takes longer to complete a lap of the circuit than any track on the calendar. Alonso’s fastest lap of 1’48.240 was almost a second slower than Sebastian Vettel’s fastest lap of Spa. That’s despite Spa being 1.937km longer.

Alonso’s average speed around a lap of Singapore was 168.73kph (104.84mph), Vettel’s at Spa was 235.07kph (146.06mph). Turns one, ten and 14 were tightened, turn 13 was slightly eased, and the entry to turn 22 was narrowed. Alonso’s fastest lap was 2.6s slower than Raikkonen’s 1’45.599 last year.

Vettel has now scored exactly 100 points in his F1 career.

Timo Glock matched his career best result with second. He was second in the Hungarian Grand Prix last year.

Heidfeld’s finishing streak finally ends

Heidfeld’s incredible record of consecutive finishes finally came to an end thanks to Sutil. He was classified for 41 races running and finished 33 in a row.

However Nico Rosberg is going after his record – he has already been finished and classified in the last 26 races in a row.

Rosberg also matched his best ever starting position – he also started third in the 2006 Malaysian Grand Prix, the second race of his career.

Kazuki Nakajima finished ninth – just out of the points – for the second time this year. He is the only driver to have started every race this year without scoring.

Button increased his championship lead for the first time since the Hungarian Grand Prix. Only Barrichello and Vettel can beat him to the title now.

Mercedes-engined cars have now won ten races this year, matching their best ever tally from 2005. Eight have come with Brawn, two with McLaren.

Spotted any more interesting facts and stats from the Singapore Grand Prix? Share them with us in the comments.

Singapore Grand Prix

Advert | Go Ad-free


107 comments on Singapore becomes F1’s longest lap

  1. Cars no.22 have won 2 WDCs in a row now (almost).

    If this trend is to continue, the WDC for 2010 is going to be (drumroll)Toro Rosso driver SEBASTIAN BUEMI!! :D :D :D

  2. Mine is quite an old stat, but, anyway, there it goes…

    This year we’ll have a new champion, since Button, Barrichello and Vettel are all chasing their first title… that makes three new champions in a row, with Raikkonen (2007), Hamilton (2008) and Button/Barrichelo/Vettel (2009)…

    The last time it happened was one decade ago, with Hill (1996), Villeneuve (1997) and Hakkinen (1998)… Before that, we had a longer streak of new champions with Andretti (1978), Schekter (1979), Jones (1980), Piquet (1981) and Rosberg (1982)… each of these series had a Finnish driver…

  3. All 14 remaining drivers were on the same lap. Twice this year?

  4. For as much as many of you hated the place, I love seeing the photo of Nick crossing the bricks at Indy!

  5. Button has won and lost equally 84-84 qualifications versus his actual teammate out of 168 grand prixs (currently leading 34-33 against Barrichello since 2006)

  6. Jacques Villeneuve won 11 races in just two seasons of racing in F1. That was at a time when race seasons were shorter and his Williams was nowhere near as reliable as Hamilton’s McLaren, and retirements and accidents were far more frequent.

    He’s still a great driver who achieved so much within such a short time. No wonder he wants a return.

  7. I wonder if Vettel will *finally* retire “Kate’s Dirty Sister” after his assorted trips across kerbs etc, and the fact that she’s missing a wing-mirror and half her floor?

    Time for “Kate’s Mother”?

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.