2009 Brazilian Grand Prix stats & facts

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Same number, same engine, same finishing position - different champion
Same number, same engine, same finishing position - different champion

In a remarkable coincidence the championship was won at Interlagos by a British driver who finished fifth in the number 22 car powered by a Mercedes for the second year in a row. But this time it was Jenson Button and not Lewis Hamilton.

Read on for more facts and stats from the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Both championship winners have now been decided – for more stats on Jenson Button and Brawn winning the championships see here:

The focus of the drivers’ championship is now the battle for second place, with Barrichello just points ahead of Vettel.

In the constructors’ championship Red Bull are confirmed in second place but McLaren have taken third place off Ferrari by a single point.

Read more: Championship standings after Brazil

Mark Webber has entered the 71-strong club of multiple Grand Prix winners. His second victory gives him as many as Bill Vukovich, Jos?? Froil??n Gonz??lez, Maurice Trintignant, Wolfgang von Trips, Pedro Rodriguez, Jo Siffert, Peter Revson, Patrick Depailler, Jean-Pierre Jabouille, Patrick Tambay and Elio de Angelis.

It was the fifth Grand Prix win for Red Bull. Webber set the fastest lap for the third time in his career and second race in a row.

Barrichello achieved the 14th pole position of his career, matching the tallies of Alberto Ascari, James Hunt and Ronnie Peterson. It was the first time he’d been on pole position since the same race five years ago.

Barrichello is now both the 18th-oldest and the third-youngest driver to take pole position at a Grand Prix. He was 22 years, three months and four days old when he scored his maiden pole at Spa-Francorchamps for Jordan in 1994. That was a record at the time, but since then two younger drivers have taken it off him: Fernando Alonso at Sepang in 2003, and then Sebastian Vettel at Monza last year.

Barrichello’s latest pole position came at the age of 37 years, four months and 25 days. The last older driver to set a pole position was Michael Schumacher in the 2006 French Grand Prix.

As Daniel pointed out this was the fourth consecutive pole position for a Brazilian driver at home. Of the last seven Brazilian Grands Prix a local driver has been on pole for six of them: Barrichello in 2003 and 2004, Massa from 2006-2008 and now Barrichello again. The foreign interloper was Alonso in 2005.

Robert Kubica was back on the podium for the first time since last year’s Japanese Grand Prix. He matched BMW’s best result of the year with second – only this time they got the full eight points for it (the other was Nick Heidfeld’s at Sepang).

Sebastien Buemi scored his first points since the Chinese Grand Prix, and matched his best career result with seventh. He qualified sixth, his best result to date.

Kamui Kobayashi made his F1 Grand Prix debut and became the 25th different driver to start a race this year.

Hamilton started 17th and finished third, gaining 14 places. That’s the second biggest improvement in a race this year – both Toyota drivers gained 16 places in the opening round at Melbourne (though it would have been 15 if Hamilton hadn’t been disqualified).

The world championship was decided at the Brazilian Grand Prix for the fifth year in a row.

If you’ve spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Brazilian Grand Prix please share them with us in the comments.

2009 Brazilian Grand Prix