2009 Brazilian Grand Prix stats & facts

Same number, same engine, same finishing position - different champion

Same number, same engine, same finishing position - different champion

In a remarkable coincidence the championship was won at Interlagos by a British driver who finished fifth in the number 22 car powered by a Mercedes for the second year in a row. But this time it was Jenson Button and not Lewis Hamilton.

Read on for more facts and stats from the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Both championship winners have now been decided – for more stats on Jenson Button and Brawn winning the championships see here:

The focus of the drivers’ championship is now the battle for second place, with Barrichello just points ahead of Vettel.

In the constructors’ championship Red Bull are confirmed in second place but McLaren have taken third place off Ferrari by a single point.

Read more: Championship standings after Brazil

Mark Webber has entered the 71-strong club of multiple Grand Prix winners. His second victory gives him as many as Bill Vukovich, Jos?? Froil??n Gonz??lez, Maurice Trintignant, Wolfgang von Trips, Pedro Rodriguez, Jo Siffert, Peter Revson, Patrick Depailler, Jean-Pierre Jabouille, Patrick Tambay and Elio de Angelis.

It was the fifth Grand Prix win for Red Bull. Webber set the fastest lap for the third time in his career and second race in a row.

Barrichello achieved the 14th pole position of his career, matching the tallies of Alberto Ascari, James Hunt and Ronnie Peterson. It was the first time he’d been on pole position since the same race five years ago.

Barrichello is now both the 18th-oldest and the third-youngest driver to take pole position at a Grand Prix. He was 22 years, three months and four days old when he scored his maiden pole at Spa-Francorchamps for Jordan in 1994. That was a record at the time, but since then two younger drivers have taken it off him: Fernando Alonso at Sepang in 2003, and then Sebastian Vettel at Monza last year.

Barrichello’s latest pole position came at the age of 37 years, four months and 25 days. The last older driver to set a pole position was Michael Schumacher in the 2006 French Grand Prix.

As Daniel pointed out this was the fourth consecutive pole position for a Brazilian driver at home. Of the last seven Brazilian Grands Prix a local driver has been on pole for six of them: Barrichello in 2003 and 2004, Massa from 2006-2008 and now Barrichello again. The foreign interloper was Alonso in 2005.

Robert Kubica was back on the podium for the first time since last year’s Japanese Grand Prix. He matched BMW’s best result of the year with second – only this time they got the full eight points for it (the other was Nick Heidfeld’s at Sepang).

Sebastien Buemi scored his first points since the Chinese Grand Prix, and matched his best career result with seventh. He qualified sixth, his best result to date.

Kamui Kobayashi made his F1 Grand Prix debut and became the 25th different driver to start a race this year.

Hamilton started 17th and finished third, gaining 14 places. That’s the second biggest improvement in a race this year – both Toyota drivers gained 16 places in the opening round at Melbourne (though it would have been 15 if Hamilton hadn’t been disqualified).

The world championship was decided at the Brazilian Grand Prix for the fifth year in a row.

If you’ve spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Brazilian Grand Prix please share them with us in the comments.

2009 Brazilian Grand Prix

Advert | Go Ad-free


98 comments on 2009 Brazilian Grand Prix stats & facts

  1. Steph90 said on 19th October 2009, 19:37

    I posted this before but it musn’t have shown up (this laptop…) anyway First time since 05 I think that a Ferrari hasn’t won.

    • steph90 said on 19th October 2009, 19:50

      Sorry for double post again I know have a better more reliable computer, so if it is possible could my near duplicate post be deleted please Keith? Sory for inconvience :(

  2. Ned Flanders said on 19th October 2009, 19:59

    Second time this season that Adrian Sutil has taken a big shortcut and been wiped out on rejoining the track. But the first time that he nearly got chinned for it!

  3. James G said on 19th October 2009, 21:02

    It is the 5th time (after 1963, 64, 65 and 69) that a British driver has won the WDC after another British driver. Yet surprisingly, no British driver has ever won 2 championships in a row.

    Jenson Button is the 19th World Champion whose first name starts with a ‘J’.

    Trivia quiz: A driver whose first name begins with J has won the WDC in every decade except one. Which one?

  4. Vincent said on 19th October 2009, 21:08

    As I stated in the Brazilian Race Report article. I think Barrichello holds and increased his record of number of times being the team mate of the driver that ultimately took the championship in the end. – 6 times now.

  5. Vincent said on 19th October 2009, 21:11

    As I stated in the brazilian race report article, I think Barrichello holds and increased his record of number of years he was team mate to the driver that ultimately took the championship. 6 times as of yesterday.

  6. Prisoner Monkeys said on 20th October 2009, 4:10

    Another piece of trivia: Jenson Button has only driven one chassis this season, and has driven it in every session of every race (Rubens Barrichello acquired a new car in Singapore). Adrian Sutil is the only other driver to have stayed with the one chassis, but it has been rebuilt so many times that most of it is probably new.

    The short version of it is this: Jenson Button won the World Championship in the oldest car on the grid.

  7. Anthony said on 20th October 2009, 4:47

    Another little fact.

    2009 was the 4th year in a row that the winner of the season opener was crowned world champ in Brazil

    2006 – Alonso (Bahrain)
    2007 – Raikonnen (Australia)
    2008 – Hamilton (Australia)
    2009 – Button (Australia)

  8. mattclinch said on 20th October 2009, 12:48

    first time that the drivers and constructors titles have been won by a team where neither of the drivers have a single driver error DNF to their name, and only 1 mechanical DNF and 1 ‘speared off by a newbie’ DNF between them?

  9. Gusto said on 20th October 2009, 14:46

    The more I watch the Sutil/Trulli incident the more I think that Trulli must be thinking why didn`t I put my brain in gear before letting my mouth go, Sutil is on the racing line and does nothing wrong, if anything He should of run up to Trulli and had a go at Him. As for Koby He should of got a white/black flag for He`s driving if not a black flag, He weaves in front of Button then pushes Nak onto the curb the lap before the collision in the Senna S and finally does such a dangerous crash causing weave that Nak is lucky to walk away from it. But you got to admire He`s drive and will surely be in next years Championship.

  10. Another one:

    Rubens Barrichello became third driver in the F1 history to finish in each of top 8 positions during the season. Fernando Alonso did it in 2003 and Robert Kubica in 2008.

    Jenson Button has also chance to do it in Abu Dhabi, if he finishes 4th.

  11. Hugo Bourgeois said on 20th October 2009, 21:51

    First pit stop since… that has been completed by another team? (Kovalainen “fuel hose” pitstop)

  12. Mario Bang said on 22nd October 2009, 17:46

    Great race but Truli was barking up the wrong tree; the inside lien is the overtaling one there as Jenson showed a few laps later!

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.

Skip to toolbar