Button leads F1 drivers in BRDC awards

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Future McLaren team mates Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton were among the winners in yesterday’s BRDC awards.

Button was handed one of his trophies by Prime Minister Gordon Brown, as the BRDC celebrated the extension of Silverstone’s Grand Prix contract.

Button claimed four prizes including the BRDC Gold Star for top-performing British (or Commonwealth) driver in international competition. He scored 246 points on the BRDC’s system, beating Indy Racing League champion Dario Franchitti.

His other awards were the ERA Club Trophy, the Graham Hill trophy and the Richard Seaman trophy.

Hamilton won the John Cobb trophy, given to “a British Driver, driving a British car, who has achieved success or successes of outstanding character.”

Ross Brawn was handed the Colin Chapman trophy for “an individual who has shown great team spirit”, an entirely appropriate award for his role in rescuing the former Honda team and leading it to world championship success.

Mark Webber was a double-winner. He claimed the Innes Ireland trophy for “the driver who best displayed the qualities of courage and sportsmanship epitomized by the late Innes Ireland”. This was a deserved recognition from his brave return from injury at the start of the season.

His other award – the Bruce McLaren trophy – was for “the Commonwealth Driver who has established the most meritorious performances in international motor racing.”

Sebastian Vettel’s fastest lap at Silverstone during this year’s race won him the Johnny Wakefield trophy.

And British F3 champion Daniel Ricciardo, who tested for Red Bull last week, won the John Cooper trophy for “a competitor within the British F3 Championship who has shown potential to become a future world champion”.

See below for pictures from the event: