2010 Australian Grand Prix stats and facts

Vettel led Button until a wheel problem ended the Red Bull driver's race

Vettel led Button until a wheel problem ended the Red Bull driver's race

After the Australian Grand Prix Sebastian Vettel has led more laps in 2010 than all the other drivers put together. But unreliability has kept him from winning either of the races so far.

Read on for more stats and facts from round two of the 2010 F1 season.

Jenson Button scored his eighth career victory. He has now won as many races as 1967 champion Denny Hulme and Jacky Ickx.

It was also his second consecutive win in the Australian Grand Prix. The last person to win successive races in Melbourne was Michael Schumacher, who won in 2000, 2001 and 2002.

It was the tenth win in the Australian Grand Prix for McLaren. They first won the event with Alain Prost in 1986 at the Adelaide circuit.

Vettel started from the seventh pole position of his career, giving him the same number of first-place starts as Button as well as Jacques Laffite.

It was the first one-two start for Red Bull – but the end result of a ninth place and a DNF will have been a huge disappointment.

Fastest lap went to Mark Webber, making him the first Australian driver to set the fastest lap in his home event. But he was once again unable to improve on his best ever finish in the event, fifth place, which he first achieved with Minardi on his Grand Prix debut in 2002.

Robert Kubica reached the podium for the tenth time in his career and ended his recent run of bad luck in the Australian Grand Prix.

Karun Chandhok and HRT achieved their first race finish. The only team yet to get their car to finish a race in 2010 is Virgin. Timo Glock completed 41 laps in Melbourne, 11 short of being classified.

Ten drivers failed to finish the race, including Jarno Trulli who wasn’t even able to start it. That’s the most non-finishers since the 2008 Australian Grand Prix, when 14 drivers failed to reach the chequered flag.

Laps led in 2010

Sebastian Vettel has led more laps than all the other drivers put together but hasn’t won a race this year.

Driver Laps led
Sebastian Vettel 56
Jenson Button 33
Fernando Alonso 16
Mark Webber 2

Podiums in 2010

Felipe Massa is the only driver to have finished on the podium in both races this year.

Driver Podiums
Felipe Massa 2
Fernando Alonso 1
Lewis Hamilton 1
Jenson Button 1
Robert Kubica 1

Have you spotted any more interesting stats and facts from the Australian Grand Prix? Post them in the comments.

2010 Australian Grand Prix

Image (C) Bridgestone / Ercole Colombo

Advert | Go Ad-free


180 comments on 2010 Australian Grand Prix stats and facts

  1. Tonio Liuzzi becomes the first Force India driver to get 2 points finishes for the outfit. In 2009 both Sutil and Fisico secured one points finish each and in 08 neither opened their accounts.

    Every year Lewis Hamilton has scored in the opening 2 rounds he has gone on to challenge for the title.

    Button becomes the 2nd driver on the grid to win for 3 seperate teams, and in succession. Will Barrichello or Schumacher take the spoils in Malaysia?

    The first wet championship Austrailian gp not to be red flagged at any point.

    6 different brits (Button (09, 10), Hamilton (08) Coulthard (97, 03) Irvine (99) Hill(95, 96) Mansell (94)) have won 9 races in austrailia, making them the most successful nation in OZ- statistic for championship races only.

    The last Mclaren to win in Austrailia ended up top of the WDC… just off thr top of my head, im sure if i had another half hour i could fill a page!!!

  2. Robert Kubica scored 2nd place for the 2nd time at the second round of the year (malaysia 2008 for BMW)

  3. Harvs said on 29th March 2010, 23:00

    If the Championship was going to be decided on qualifying position then the Championship would currently look like this…

    1. VET 50
    2. ALO 30
    3. MAS 28
    4. WEB 26
    5. ROS 18
    6. BUT 16
    7. HAM 12
    8. SCH 12
    9. BAR 4
    10. KUB 4
    11. SUT 2

    And the Constructor championship would look like this…

    6. RENAULT 4

    • then I put fastest lap ranking:
      Web 40
      Ham 27
      Alo 26
      Sut 18
      Ros 18
      Bar 18
      Mas 16
      Sch 12
      But 10
      Liu 8
      Kub 4
      Alg 4
      Bue 1

      Btw 0 pts Vettel

  4. Mr. Zing Zang said on 30th March 2010, 2:52

    What about the pass statistics?

  5. shery said on 30th March 2010, 12:49

    Button has become the 2nd driver on the grid to win for three different teams..only other driver is fernando alonso

  6. just curious said on 30th March 2010, 14:00

    Am I the only one who saw Vettels’ front left wheel spark against the kerb on his Pole Lap – was this the cause of his wheel failure during the race?

  7. when last time driver who won GP, had been last after some lap?

  8. Paul Gilbert said on 30th March 2010, 22:21

    4th race in a row that the polesitter has suffered some sort of mechanical problem during the race.

  9. Paul Gilbert said on 31st March 2010, 18:10

    Apparently the last time that a team locked out the front row but failed to manage even a podium finish was Australia 2003, when Ferrari locked out the front row, but Barrichello retired early on and Schumacher could only manage 4th (the first race since 1999 without a Ferrari on the podium!).

  10. wasiF1 said on 1st April 2010, 16:24

    It was nice to see HRT finishing the race.Good race for Kubica.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.