2010 Malaysian Grand Prix stats and facts

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Red Bull are the third different team to win in as many races this year
Red Bull are the third different team to win in as many races this year

With Ferrari, McLaren and now Red Bull taking turns to win in 2010 we’ve had three different teams win in the first three races – something which hasn’t happened in 20 years.

Read on for more stats and facts from the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Sebastian Vettel won the sixth race of his career, giving him the same number of wins as Tony Brooks, John Surtees, Jochen Rindt, Gilles Villeneuve, Jacques Laffite, Riccardo Patrese and Ralf Schumacher.

Mark Webber started from the second pole position of his career and set his fifth fastest lap.

With Webber finishing second behind his team mate Red Bull achieved their fifth one-two. Four of these saw Vettel finish ahead of Webber.

Three different teams have won the first three races of the year – the last time this happened was in 1990:

1. United States Grand Prix – Ayrton Senna, McLaren
2. Brazilian Grand Prix – Alain Prost, Ferrari
3. San Marino Grand Prix – Riccardo Patrese, Williams

The last time there was more than this was 1983, when Brabham, McLaren, Renault, Ferrari and Williams won the first five races.

Jaime Alguersuari and Nico H???lkenberg scored the first points of their F1 careers by finishing in ninth and tenth places.

Nico Rosberg put Mercedes on the podium for the first time in 55 years. Juan Manuel Fangio and Piero Taruffi finished first and second for the silver arrows in their previous incarnation in the 1955 Italian Grand Prix. That was the last appearance of the factory team in F1 until this year.

Rosberg also achieved his highest ever qualifying position and first appearance on the front row, taking second place.

Lewis Hamilton started from the lowest position he’s ever been on a grid in F1 – 20th. His previous worst was 19th at Monaco last year.

Lotus and Virgin reached Q2 for the first time this year.

Felipe Massa leads the drivers’ championship for the second time in his career. The last time came after he won the French Grand Prix in 2008.

Most laps led

Sebastian Vettel has now led more than twice as many laps in 2010 as all the other drivers put together:

Driver Laps led
Sebastian Vettel 110
Jenson Button 33
Fernando Alonso 16
Mark Webber 4

Most podium finishes

Driver Podiums
Felipe Massa 2
Fernando Alonso 1
Lewis Hamilton 1
Jenson Button 1
Robert Kubica 1
Mark Webber 1
Nico Rosberg 1
Sebastian Vettel 1

Average position change in 2010

The average number of places a driver has gained or lost from the start to the end of a race for all the races so far in 2010.

Driver Position change
Mark Webber -3.33
Nico H???lkenberg -3.00
Adrian Sutil -1.50
Rubens Barrichello -1.33
Michael Schumacher -1.00
Sebastian Vettel -0.50
Nico Rosberg 0.00
Sebastien Buemi +0.50
Jarno Trulli +2.00
Pedro de la Rosa +2.00
Fernando Alonso +2.33
Robert Kubica +2.33
Jenson Button +4.33
Vitantonio Liuzzi +4.50
Felipe Massa +5.33
Jaime Alguersuari +5.33
Heikki Kovalainen +6.00
Lewis Hamilton +6.67
Bruno Senna +7.00
Karun Chandhok +8.50
Lucas di Grassi +10.00
Vitaly Petrov No classified finishes
Kamui Kobayashi No classified finishes
Timo Glock No classified finishes

Over to you

Spotted any more interesting facts and stats from the Malaysian Grand Prix? Share them in the comments below…

2010 Malaysian Grand Prix