McLaren stay ahead in second practice

Hamilton set the fastest time around the Shanghai circuit
Hamilton set the fastest time around the Shanghai circuit

Lewis Hamilton put McLaren on top of the times sheets in the second practice session at Shanghai.

Nico Rosberg split the McLarens with Jenson Button third having been fastest this morning.

Button was one of several drivers to struggle with traffic during the session, shaking his first at Lucas di Grassi after getting stuck behind the Virgin driver.

Fernando Alonso, who missed most of first practice due to an engine failure, had a similar encounter with Bruno Senna at the long turn 13. And Robert Kubica almost collided with Karun Chandhok.

Sebastien Buemi was unable to join in the second session after his crash in practice this morning. But team mate Jaime Alguersuari covered more laps than anyone else – 43 – and set the eighth-quickest time.

At Force India Vitantonio Liuzzi returned to his car which had been used by Paul di Resta this morning. He ended the session 16th, 1.6s slower than Adrian Sutil.

Jarno Trulli was the quickest of the new teams’ drivers but team mate Heikki Kovalainen ended his session early when his T127 came to a halt on the track.

Chandhok put HRT in front of one of their rivals, lapping the Shanghai circuit a tenth of a second faster than di Grassi.

Pos. Car Driver Car Best lap Laps
1 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1’35.217 26
2 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1’35.465 0.248 22
3 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1’35.593 0.376 26
4 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1’35.602 0.385 28
5 5 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1’35.791 0.574 30
6 6 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1’35.995 0.778 29
7 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1’36.254 1.037 31
8 17 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1’36.377 1.16 43
9 11 Robert Kubica Renault 1’36.389 1.172 29
10 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1’36.604 1.387 33
11 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1’36.944 1.727 36
12 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1’36.986 1.769 27
13 22 Pedro de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1’37.421 2.204 32
14 23 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1’37.431 2.214 33
15 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1’37.657 2.44 30
16 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1’37.804 2.587 31
17 10 Nico H???lkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1’37.867 2.65 29
18 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1’39.624 4.407 35
19 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1’39.947 4.73 30
20 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1’40.233 5.016 27
21 20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 1’41.008 5.791 32
22 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1’41.107 5.89 28
23 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 1’41.345 6.128 32
25 16 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 0

2010 Chinese Grand Prix

Browse all 2010 Chinese Grand Prix articles

59 comments on “McLaren stay ahead in second practice”

  1. Tbh both Red Bulls are together again in 2nd practice just like last year, and both have set a similiar time to 2009. They also timed together the same in 3rd practice but vettel ended the winner on race day.

    2009: 2nd practice
    Webber: 1:36.105 -4th
    Vettel: 1:36.167 -5th

    2010: 2nd practice
    Vettel: 1:35.791 -5th
    Webber: 1:35.955 -6th

    Rosberg is 0.299 faster then he was last year which I guess shows the Mercedes power, but for me it doesn’t show If Rosberg is giving it all or is holding back still.

    The Red Bulls look to be holding back again, since it looks like the same 2009 strategy. Because how can we say the RB6 is not better then the RB5 this year, so they must be holding back. The only problem for Red Bull this time round is Hamilton and Alonso have a better car.

    1. “The only problem for Red Bull this time round is Hamilton and Alonso have a better car.”

      RedBull seem to have a similar advantage to what Brawn did over the rest of the field in the early part of 2009. Only difference being that they seem to be not making the most of it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>