Hamilton denies Webber a perfect result (Spanish Grand Prix facts and stats)

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

It was very nearly a perfect result for Mark Webber in Spain
It was very nearly a perfect result for Mark Webber in Spain

Mark Webber nearly scored the perfect result of a win from pole position with fastest lap and every lap led. But Lewis Hamilton snatched the fastest lap late in the race for only the fifth time in his career.

Read on for more stats and facts from the Spanish Grand Prix.

It was the first time Webber led a race from start to finish. Ayrton Senna holds the record for winning the most races in this fashion – he claimed 19 of his 41 victories that way.

Of the current drivers, Michael Schumacher has done it 11 times and Fernando Alonso twice. Sebastian Vettel, Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button each have one lights-to-flag win to their names.

It was the fifth consecutive pole position for a Red Bull driver and Mark Webber’s third of his career. That gives him as many as Jose Froilan Gonzalez, Tony Brooks, Dan Gurney, Jean-Pierre Jarier, Elio de Angelis and Teo Fabi.

With Sebastian Vettel alongside him this was the team’s third front row lock-out – al of which have been achieved this year.

Mark Webber scored the third pole position and third win of his career. He’s now won as many races as Mike Hawthorn, Peter Collins, Phil Hill, Didier Pironi, Thierry Boutsen, Heinz-Harald Frentzen, Johnny Herbert and Giancarlo Fisichella.

Virgin got both their cars to the finish for the first time – something Sauber are yet to achieve.

Timo Glock and Kamui Kobayashi finished races for the first time in 2010 – meaning every driver has finished at least once this year.

Jenson Button finished in the points for the tenth race in a row.

For the first time in 12 races there wasn’t a Mercedes-powered car on the podium – after they’d filled the top three in China.

This was the 40th world championship Spanish Grand Prix. The first was held at Pedralbes in 1951, but after a second race there in 1954 F1 didn’t return to the country until 1968.

The event alternated between Jarama and Montjuch Park until 1975, when Montjuich was dropped following a crash which killed five spectators. In 1980 the race was temporarily stripped of its world championship status due to the FISA-FOCA war. The last race at Jarama, in 1981, was won by Gilles Villeneuve, the Ferrari driver holding up a train of cars for most of the race.

F1 returned to Spain in 1986 and has had a race their every year since. After five years at Jerez the Grand Prix moved to the new Circuit de Catalunya in 1991, which held the race for the 20th time this year.

Laps led in 2010

Only one driver added to his tally in Barcelona. Red Bull have led 180 of the 285 laps so far this year.

Driver Laps led
Sebastian Vettel 110
Jenson Button 71
Mark Webber 70
Fernando Alonso 18
Nico Rosberg 16

Podiums in 2010

Surprisingly, after five races no driver has made it onto the podium more than twice:

Driver Podiums
Felipe Massa 2
Lewis Hamilton 2
Jenson Button 2
Nico Rosberg 2
Fernando Alonso 2
Mark Webber 2
Sebastian Vettel 2
Robert Kubica 1

2010 average grid

Here’s the grid based on every F1 driver’s average starting position:

Pos Driver Position
1 Sebastian Vettel 1.6
2 Mark Webber 2.4
3 Nico Rosberg 5.0
4 Fernando Alonso 6.4
5 Michael Schumacher 7.4
6 Jenson Button 7.8
7 Robert Kubica 7.8
8 Lewis Hamilton 8.8
9 Felipe Massa 8.8
10 Adrian Sutil 9.0
11 Rubens Barrichello 11.0
12 Nico H???lkenberg 12.4
13 Kamui Kobayashi 13.2
14 Sebastien Buemi 13.6
15 Pedro de la Rosa 13.8
16 Vitantonio Liuzzi 14.0
17 Vitaly Petrov 14.8
18 Jaime Alguersuari 15.4
19 Heikki Kovalainen 19.2
20 Timo Glock 19.2
21 Jarno Trulli 19.4
22 Lucas di Grassi 22.4
23 Bruno Senna 23.2
24 Karun Chandhok 23.4

2010 average race

This is the average finishing position of each driver in 2010:

Pos Driver Position
1 Sebastian Vettel 3.50
2 Jenson Button 4.40
3 Fernando Alonso 4.80
4 Felipe Massa 5.40
5 Mark Webber 5.60
6 Nico Rosberg 5.80
7 Robert Kubica 6.00
8 Lewis Hamilton 6.20
9 Michael Schumacher 7.50
10 Adrian Sutil 8.75
11 Vitaly Petrov 9.00
12 Rubens Barrichello 10.20
13 Vitantonio Liuzzi 10.33
14 Jaime Alguersuari 11.20
15 Pedro de la Rosa 12.00
16 Kamui Kobayashi 12.00
17 Sebastien Buemi 13.50
18 Nico H???lkenberg 13.75
19 Heikki Kovalainen 14.00
20 Karun Chandhok 15.33
21 Bruno Senna 16.00
22 Lucas di Grassi 16.50
23 Jarno Trulli 17.00
24 Timo Glock 18.00

Spotted any interesting stats and facts from the Spanish Grand Prix? Post them in the comments.

2010 Spanish Grand Prix

Browse all 2010 Spanish Grand Prix articles