Schumacher handed 20-second penalty, loses points finish, Mercedes to appeal

Michael Schumacher has been demoted from sixth to 12th place

Michael Schumacher has been demoted from sixth to 12th place

Michael Schumacher has been stripped of his sixth-placed finish by the Monaco Grand Prix stewards, who handed him a 20-second penalty for overtaking Fernando Alonso at the final corner of the race.

The result drops Schumacher from sixth place in the original standings to 12th and out of the points.

The verdict promotes Alonso back into sixth ahead of Rosberg, Sutil and Liuzzi. Sebastien Buemi gains a point for tenth place.

Mercedes have said they will appeal the penalty.

The stewards explained their decision as follows:

The Stewards received a report from the Race Director that car Nr 3 – Michael Schumacher overtook car Nr 8 – Fernando Alonso when the Safety Car entered the pit lane at the end of the last lap.

As the overtaking manoeuvre was in breach of Article 40.13 of the 2010 F1 Sporting Regulations, the Stewards decided to impose a drive through penalty but, as it occurred during the last five laps, 20 seconds will be added to the elapsed race time of car Nr 3.

What do you think of Schumacher's penalty?

  • Schumacher was at fault and he should have got a tougher penalty (3%)
  • Schumacher was at fault and the stewards gave the correct penalty (17%)
  • Schumacher was at fault but he should have got a less severe penalty (18%)
  • Schumacher was not at fault and he should have got no penalty at all (62%)

Total Voters: 2,290

Loading ... Loading ...

2010 Monaco Grand Prix

Browse all 2010 Monaco Grand Prix articles

Advert | Go Ad-free

404 comments on Schumacher handed 20-second penalty, loses points finish, Mercedes to appeal

1 9 10 11
  1. f1yankee said on 17th May 2010, 22:45

    if i were president of the fia, i’d declare force majeure and institute the “bad rule rule”: clarify the rule in question and place schu 7th.

  2. Everyone should watch the movie called ‘Les Miserables’ and see what’s an unfair penalty :)

  3. PeterMetro said on 18th May 2010, 3:05

    What a stuff up.
    Cars do not overtake (whether behind a safety car or not) regardless of article 40.13…if waved yellows are being shown. Don’t you think it sends a mixed (unclear) message to any driver, to pull the safety car in, stop waving the yellow flags, bring out the green ones, start waving them, announce track clear (get on with racing)…safety car in…but, oh by the way…they forgot to announce NO OVERTAKING!! How stupid! How about we keep it really simple. If they don’t want cars to overtake after a safety car period…keep the yellow flags out! It’s not that hard. It’s not brain surgery. It’s ridiculous, and a little bit embarrassing. What a stuff up. If you say GO RACING to a racing car driver, that’s exactly what they do. GO RACING UNTIL THE CHECKERED FLAG!

  4. Alpha said on 18th May 2010, 5:26

    Ross Brawn was completely correct. Take a look:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQerOq_7DcA

    FIA made an error by showing the Green Flag! Not Schumi, not Mercedes…..

    • wasiF1 said on 18th May 2010, 8:08

      Brawn was absolutely correct, why was Alonso sliding, may be to attack Hamilton, why will Schumacher will pay the penalty for the mistakes that the FIA makes. I have to raise another question didn’t Hills saw those green flags?

  5. Clear enough to me said on 18th May 2010, 14:33

    Apologies if someone has already said this, but …

    The answer here is in Article 40.11, rather than 40.13.

    40.13 states that “If the race ends whilst the safety car is deployed it will enter the pit lane at the end of the last lap and the cars will take the chequered flag as normal without overtaking.”

    As a result, the key question is whether the race ended with the safety car “deployed”.

    In my view it did not.

    This is because of Article 40.11, which gives the procedure for ending the deployment of the safety car. It states:

    “When the clerk of the course decides it is safe to call in the safety car the message “SAFETY CAR IN THIS LAP” will be displayed on the timing monitors and the car’s orange lights will be extinguished This will be the signal to the teams and drivers that it will be entering the pit lane at the end of that lap.

    At this point the first car in line behind the safety car may dictate the pace and, if necessary, fall more than ten car lengths behind it.

    In order to avoid the likelihood of accidents before the safety car returns to the pits, from the point at which the lights on the car are turned out drivers must proceed at a pace which involves no erratic acceleration or braking nor any other manoeuvre which is likely to endanger other drivers or impede the restart.

    As the safety car is approaching the pit entry the yellow flags and SC boards will be withdrawn and replaced by waved green flags with green lights at the Line. These will be displayed until the last car crosses the Line.”

    In the case in hand, my understanding is that the message was given “SAFETY CAR IN THIS LAP” (it flashes up on the tv screen as the car comes round Casino square). The car’s orange lights were certainly extinguished (just after the hairpin after the tunnel). Moreover, as the safety car approached the pit entry, “the yellow flags and SC boards [were] withdrawn and replaced by waved green flags with green lights at the Line.”

    In short, the existence of green flags and lights does NOT seem to be a mistake by the race stewards, but seems to be the correct procedure for ending the deployment of the safety car.

    Now it just so happens that the deployment of the saftey car ended on the last lap of the race. However, this does not in turn mean that Article 40.13 applies.

    As noted above, Article 40.13 states “If the race ends whilst the safety car is deployed it will enter the pit lane at the end of the last lap and the cars will take the chequered flag as normal without overtaking.”

    It does NOT state “If the deployment of the saftey car is ended in the last lap of the race, it will enter the pit lane at the end of that last lap and the cars will take the chequered flag as normal without overtaking.”

    Presumably, IF the saftey car was still in effect at the end of the last lap, then the end of deployment procedure identified above would not have been followed: there would have been no message “SAFETY CAR IN THIS LAP”, and the yellow flags and SC boards would still have been showing as the saftey car entered the pit lane at the end of the last lap, in accordance with Article 40.13.

    In short, the deployment of the saftey car had ended, albeit in the last lap, and the race was back on (which interpretation is consistent with the general provisions concerning the meaning of a green flag).

    Schumacher’s overtaking manouvre was legitimate.

    What have I missed?

1 9 10 11

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.