This time Vettel denies Webber a perfect result (Monaco GP stats and facts)

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Webber was beaten to fastest lap by Vettel
Webber was beaten to fastest lap by Vettel

Mark Webber repeated his domination of the Spanish Grand Prix at Monaco – but once again one driver stopped him from achieving a perfect result.

This time his team mate was the spoiler – Sebastian Vettel beat Webber to the fastest lap of the race.

However Webber led every lap of the Monaco Grand Prix, meaning no-one else has led a race since Jenson Button won in China.

The last time a driver led every lap of two consecutive races was in 2005. The driver was Kimi R??ikk??nen – and he achieved the feat at the same two race Webber did.

Webber’s fourth win was his first back-to-back victory, and it puts him level with Dan Gurney, Bruce McLaren and Eddie Irvine on total wins.

He also scored his fourth pole position, matching Mike Hawthorn, Didier Pironi, Jarno Trulli and Giancarlo Fisichella.

To cap it all, Webber now leads the championship for the first time in his career, albeit in a points tie with Vettel.

Vettel’s fourth fastest lap gives him as many as Jo Siffert, Jean-Pierre Beltoise, Patrick Depailler and Jean Alesi.

The ninth victory for Red Bull puts them in a tie for 12th place on the list of most successful constructors. Mercedes, Maserati, Vanwall, Matra and Ligier also scored nine wins – though of those only Mercedes are likely to add to their tally for the foreseeable future.

Button’s retirement bring his run of ten consecutive finish in the points to an end. That leaves just Webber and Felipe Massa the only drivers to have scored in every race this year.

Laps led

Driver Laps led
Mark Webber 148
Sebastian Vettel 110
Jenson Button 71
Fernando Alonso 18
Nico Rosberg 16


Driver Podiums
Mark Webber 3
Sebastian Vettel 3
Felipe Massa 2
Lewis Hamilton 2
Jenson Button 2
Nico Rosberg 2
Fernando Alonso 2
Robert Kubica 2

Spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Monaco Grand Prix? Post them in the comments…

2010 Monaco Grand Prix

Browse all 2010 Monaco Grand Prix articles