2010 Turkish Grand Prix stats and facts

Ferrari's 800th start was a race to forget for the Scuderia

Ferrari's 800th start was a race to forget for the Scuderia

Ferrari didn’t have much to celebrate in their 800th Grand Prix start. Read on for more facts and stats from the Turkish Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton won a race for the first time in 2010. It was the 12th victory of his career, meaning he has now won as many races as Mario Andretti, Alan Jones and Carlos Reutemann.

Hamilton also reached the podium for the 30th time in his career. With Jenson Button finishing second it was the 46th one-two for McLaren.

Hamilton is the fifth different driver to win in seven races. Last year only two different drivers won the first seven races – Button claiming six of them. Six different drivers won races in 2009.

Red Bull’s domination of qualifying continued with their seventh pole position in as many races. It was the third pole position in a row for Mark Webber, who now has five pole positions to his name, putting him level with Giuseppe Farina, Chris Amon, Clay Regazzoni, Patrick Tambay and Keke Rosberg.

Webber and Felipe Massa kept up their runs of scoring in every race so far this year.

A late effort from Vitaly Petrov secured the first fastest lap of his career and the first ever by a Russian driver. He is the 119th different driver to have set a fastest lap in the history of Formula 1.

Kamui Kobayashi scored his first point of 2010 and the first point for Sauber post-BMW. This was also the first time both C29s made it to the finish this year.

Ferrari marked their 800th Grand Prix start. The Italian team have started more races than any other – by comparison McLaren have racked up 672 starts, Williams 541.

Lotus have started 498 in their two incarnations combined and should reach their 500th in the European Grand Prix.

From their 800 starts Ferrari have achieved 211 wins, 203 pole positions and 220 fastest laps.

Laps led

Driver Laps led
Mark Webber 185
Sebastian Vettel 110
Jenson Button 74
Fernando Alonso 18
Lewis Hamilton 18
Nico Rosberg 16

Laps complete

Pos Driver Laps completed
1 Mark Webber 421
1 Felipe Massa 421
1 Robert Kubica 421
4 Nico Rosberg 420
4 Jaime Alguersuari 420
6 Lewis Hamilton 419
6 Fernando Alonso 419
8 Michael Schumacher 374
9 Adrian Sutil 372
10 Rubens Barrichello 370
11 Sebastian Vettel 369
12 Jenson Button 345
13 Vitantonio Liuzzi 318
14 Karun Chandhok 308
15 Vitaly Petrov 305
16 Heikki Kovalainen 295
17 Jarno Trulli 288
18 Nico H???lkenberg 280
19 Sebastien Buemi 278
20 Bruno Senna 231
20 Lucas di Grassi 231
22 Timo Glock 198
23 Pedro de la Rosa 190
24 Kamui Kobayashi 168


Driver Podiums
Mark Webber 4
Sebastian Vettel 3
Lewis Hamilton 3
Jenson Button 3
Felipe Massa 2
Nico Rosberg 2
Fernando Alonso 2
Robert Kubica 2

Average finishing position

Pos Driver Average finishing position
1 Sebastian Vettel 3.20
2 Jenson Button 4.00
3 Mark Webber 4.57
4 Lewis Hamilton 5.29
5 Fernando Alonso 5.43
6 Felipe Massa 5.43
7 Robert Kubica 5.57
8 Nico Rosberg 5.86
9 Michael Schumacher 7.67
10 Adrian Sutil 8.67
11 Vitantonio Liuzzi 10.60
12 Rubens Barrichello 10.83
13 Kamui Kobayashi 11.00
14 Jaime Alguersuari 11.29
15 Vitaly Petrov 11.50
16 Pedro de la Rosa 11.50
17 Sebastien Buemi 13.25
18 Heikki Kovalainen 14.00
19 Nico H???lkenberg 14.40
20 Karun Chandhok 16.00
21 Bruno Senna 16.00
22 Jarno Trulli 16.50
23 Lucas di Grassi 17.33
24 Timo Glock 18.00

Spotted any more interesting facts and stats from the Turkish Grand Prix? Post them in the comments below.

2010 Turkish Grand Prix

Browse all 2010 Turkish Grand Prix articles

Advert | Go Ad-free


89 comments on 2010 Turkish Grand Prix stats and facts

  1. Ned Flanders said on 31st May 2010, 12:36

    4 different drivers led the race (or at least had their nose in front!) at some point:

    Webber for 40 laps
    Hamilton for 18 laps
    Button for about 800m
    Vettel for about 200m

    Incredible stuff. What a race!

    • AndrewT said on 31st May 2010, 12:48

      and Button in lap 16-17 as well, when he managed to stay on track with the soft tyres, but in his second lap leading it was starting to get grainy.

  2. Zoli said on 31st May 2010, 14:05

    Mark Webber has led 159 laps in the last 3 races (without a break): Spain 1-66, Monaco 1-78, Turkey 1-15

    The All-time list:
    Alberto Ascari 305
    Ayrton Senna 264
    Nigel Mansell 235
    Jim Clark 186
    Kimi Raikkonen 162
    Mark Webber 159

  3. Dean Yamasaki said on 31st May 2010, 15:09

    This is the first race I saw a grid girl feint.

    And how many consecutive races has Jensen Button’s dad worn that pink shirt, heheh.

  4. Ling said on 31st May 2010, 17:33

    how do i know the real differences in term of time between all the cars on the track now? How far the improvement made by the new teams so far?

  5. Andrew White said on 31st May 2010, 18:57

    - Alonso is out of the top 3 in the WDC for the first time this year; he’s now fourth with 79 points.
    – Jaime Alguersuari has finished between 9th and 13th in every race this year; he one of only five drivers yet to retire this season
    – On the 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 system, it would be 1. WEB 36; 2. BUT 35; 3. HAM 34; 4. VET 32; 5 ALO 32. That gives you an idea of how close the championship is!
    – Turkey was the shortest race in terms of time this year and had the fewest retirements. It followed Monaco which was the longest race and had the most retirements.
    – It was the first time that a driver who qualified 2nd has won the race this year. Races have now been won from all the top five places in the first seven races.

  6. Icthyes said on 31st May 2010, 20:21

    All 3 cars on the podium belonged to teams Adrian Newey works or has worked for. Doesn’t reveal much, but hey!

    First McLaren 1-2 with Hamilton beating Button. Hamilton has also beaten (discounting Hamilton’s crash in Spain and Button’s engine failure in Monaco) Button in every dry race this year.

  7. shyguy2008 said on 31st May 2010, 21:53

    Is this the first time this year all 24 cars have started on the grid? (with no one starting in the pit lane)

  8. 1st Hamilton, 3rd Webber, 16th Buemi and Vettel out of the race – Istanbul 2010 and Hungaroring 2009.

  9. US Williams Fan said on 1st June 2010, 6:56

    Good article with lots of interesting data.

    Especially like this one:

    “Lotus have started 498 in their two incarnations combined and should reach their 500th in the European Grand Prix.”

    I did not know that at all.

    Would be interesting to see if they alter their car in the same way that Ferrari did at Turkey.


  10. Bleu said on 1st June 2010, 7:02

    FIA timing information says that Button was 0,084 seconds ahead after lap 48.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.