100 races without a win for Williams (German Grand Prix stats and facts)

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Rubens Barrichello, Williams, Hockenheimring, 2010

While all the attention was elsewhere Williams quietly reached a sad centenary of races without a win.

And while Felipe Massa is yet to win a race in 2010 he has led more laps than team mate Fernando Alonso, who scored his second win.

More stats and facts from the German Grand Prix below.

Fernando Alonso’s 23rd career win means he is now firmly a member of the top ten most prolific winners.

It puts him level on victories with Nelson Piquet and he has one fewer than Juan Manuel Fangio. Alonso reached this mark in his 150th Grand Prix.

With Felipe Massa following him home in second this was Ferrari’s 81st one-two finish.

Sebastian Vettel started from pole position for the third race in a row and the 11th time in his career.

He secured pole by just two thousandths of a second over Alonso. The last time pole position was won by a similarly small gap was when Kimi R??ikk??nen beat Michael Schumacher in qualifying at Monza in 2006 by the same margin. Coincidentally, that was also R??ikk??nen’s 11th pole position.

Vettel also set the fastest lap, his fifth, meaning he has as many as Giuseppe Farina, Carlos Pace, Jody Scheckter, Didier Pironi, John Watson, Michele Alboreto, Mark Webber and Lewis Hamilton. This was also the tenth fastest lap for Red Bull.

Williams reached a depressing milestone: they have now appeared at 100 F1 race weekends since their last victory. They didn’t start one of those races, which was the 2005 United States Grand Prix. Their last win came at Interlagos in 2004, courtesy of Juan Pablo Montoya.

Adrian Sutil failed to finish in the points having scored in the last six races.

Sakon Yamamoto became the first driver to use two different numbers in one season while driving for the same team since Ricardo Zonta with Toyota in 2004.

Laps led

Massa led a race for the the first time this year. Interestingly, he’s led more laps than his team mate. Unusually, Red Bull didn’t lead a single lap of this race.

Driver Laps led
Mark Webber 259
Sebastian Vettel 174
Jenson Button 82
Lewis Hamilton 56
Felipe Massa 40
Fernando Alonso 39
Nico Rosberg 16
Sebastien Buemi 1

Times started ahead of team mate

Robert Kubica extended his qualifying domination at Renault to 11 races.

Pos Driver Times out-qualified team mate
1 Robert Kubica 11
2 Timo Glock 10
3 Sebastien Buemi 9
3 Adrian Sutil 9
3 Nico Rosberg 9
6 Rubens Barrichello 8
6 Fernando Alonso 8
8 Lewis Hamilton 7
8 Bruno Senna 7
10 Pedro de la Rosa 6
10 Jarno Trulli 6
10 Sebastian Vettel 6
13 Mark Webber 5
13 Heikki Kovalainen 5
13 Kamui Kobayashi 5
16 Karun Chandhok 4
16 Jenson Button 4
18 Felipe Massa 3
19 Nico H???lkenberg 2
19 Michael Schumacher 2
19 Vitantonio Liuzzi 2
19 Jaime Alguersuari 2
23 Lucas di Grassi 1
24 Vitaly Petrov 0
24 Sakon Yamamoto 0

Laps completed

Massa has the most mileage.

Pos Driver Laps completed
1 Felipe Massa 666
2 Nico Rosberg 665
2 Lewis Hamilton 665
2 Fernando Alonso 665
5 Jaime Alguersuari 656
6 Robert Kubica 633
7 Michael Schumacher 618
7 Mark Webber 618
9 Adrian Sutil 615
9 Sebastian Vettel 615
11 Rubens Barrichello 614
12 Jenson Button 591
13 Vitantonio Liuzzi 561
14 Vitaly Petrov 548
15 Nico H???lkenberg 516
16 Karun Chandhok 479
17 Heikki Kovalainen 478
18 Sebastien Buemi 457
19 Jarno Trulli 437
20 Timo Glock 417
21 Lucas di Grassi 411
22 Pedro de la Rosa 372
23 Bruno Senna 362
24 Kamui Kobayashi 344
25 Sakon Yamamoto 69


Does not include drivers who retired from races but were still classified (e.g. Lewis Hamilton in Spain and Fernando Alonso in Malaysia).

Driver Mechanical Accident Total retirements
Pedro de la Rosa 5 2 7
Bruno Senna 5 1 6
Timo Glock 5 1 6
Lucas di Grassi 5 1 6
Kamui Kobayashi 3 3 6
Jarno Trulli 5 0 5
Heikki Kovalainen 3 2 5
Sebastien Buemi 1 3 4
Vitaly Petrov 2 1 3
Nico H???lkenberg 1 2 3
Sebastian Vettel 1 1 2
Vitantonio Liuzzi 1 1 2
Karun Chandhok 0 2 2
Jenson Button 1 0 1
Michael Schumacher 1 0 1
Rubens Barrichello 1 0 1
Robert Kubica 1 0 1
Adrian Sutil 1 0 1
Jaime Alguersuari 1 0 1
Sakon Yamamoto 1 0 1
Mark Webber 0 1 1
Lewis Hamilton 0 0 0
Nico Rosberg 0 0 0
Felipe Massa 0 0 0
Fernando Alonso 0 0 0

Spotted any interesting facts and stats from the German Grand Prix? Post them in the comments.

2010 German Grand Prix

Browse all 2010 German Grand Prix articles

Image (C) Williams/LAT

71 comments on “100 races without a win for Williams (German Grand Prix stats and facts)”

Jump to comment page: 1 2
  1. Ayrton won 6 times at Monaco including five consequtive wins between 1989 and 1993, He has 8 podium finishes in 10 starts.

    1. Ayrton won 6 times at Monaco including five consecutive wins between 1989 and 1993, He has 8 podium finishes in 10 starts.

  2. When was the last time a driver managed to start the race with the pit limeter on? Or, when was the last time someone accidentally turned the engine off when going for the break bias lever. Or even better when was the last time it happened to the same driver in a race? I guess never? ahem*yamamoto*ahem

    pretty fail.

    1. Haha! So that’s what happened to him :D

      1. Yeah, according to Anthony Davidsons twitter….

        “For anyone wondering how Yam’s race ended, he accidentally pulled the fire switch instead of his brake bias causing the engine to turn off!”

        And Lucas Di Grassi also said, via the Virgin twitter…

        “Lucas says he was laughing at the start – because YAM started with the pitlane limiter on :-)”

        1. OK,so how many will remember this embarrassing incident?

          Question>Which team left their car and driver still on a jack at the race start.

          1. I seem to remember Williams doing it to Ralf once, maybe at spa?

        2. Hmmm. Wonder who will be in the two HRTs this weekend.

  3. Williams has always been a much loved team,and I am glad that Reubens is staying with them for another season.I am sure Williams will rise again,just like the Phoenix,they have been consistent lately,and last weekend was just a blip.We are all with you Frank and team.:)

  4. Paul Gilbert
    26th July 2010, 23:20

    This is the second time that an Alonso win has been aided by his Brazilian team-mate obeying ‘race-fixing’ orders.

Jump to comment page: 1 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.