Red Bull mark 100th F1 start with win (Hungarian Grand Prix facts and stats)

Red Bull, Hungaroring, 2010

Red Bull had both their cars on the front row for the sixth time this year, but once again they weren’t able to translate that into a one-two finish.

Despite that there was plenty for them to celebrate in their 100th Grand Prix start as they took the lead in the constructors’ championship and Mark Webber returned to the top of the drivers’ rankings.

Sebastian Vettel extended his run of consecutive pole positions to four. It was his seventh of the season and 12th of his career, giving him as many as Gerhard Berger and David Coulthard.

For Red Bull it was their sixth front row lock-out in 12 races.

Vettel’s pole position lap was one of the quickest around the Hungaroring since it was re-configured in 2003. His 1’18.773 lap was slightly slower than that set by Rubens Barrichello in his Ferrari in first qualifiyng in 2004, 1’18.436.

Vettel also logged the sixth fastest lap of his career. But there would be no race win for him once again.

That went to Webber, claiming his fourth victory of the year and sixth of his career in his 150th start.

Webber has now won as many races as Tony Brooks, John Surtees, Jochen Rindt, Gilles Villeneuve, Jacques Laffite, Riccardo Patrese and Ralf Schumacher.

This was Red Bull’s 100th Grand Prix start (but their 101st appearance – they did not start at Indianapolis in 2005) and 12th victory.

Two drivers scored the best result of their careers so far: Vitaly Petrov (fifth) and Nico H???lkenberg (sixth). Petrov also had his best qualifying position, seventh.

Pedro de la Rosa scored his first points since the 2006 Brazilian Grand Prix, when he was eighth.

Mercedes failed to score a point in a race for the first time this year. That leaves Red Bull and McLaren the only teams to score in every round so far.

Average position change

How many places a driver has gained in each race on average.

Driver Position change
Karun Chandhok +6.50
Bruno Senna +5.20
Heikki Kovalainen +5.00
Lucas di Grassi +4.83
Sakon Yamamoto +4.50
Kamui Kobayashi +4.17
Jaime Alguersuari +4.00
Jenson Button +3.55
Jarno Trulli +2.71
Timo Glock +2.67
Vitantonio Liuzzi +2.50
Sebastien Buemi +2.38
Pedro de la Rosa +2.20
Lewis Hamilton +1.73
Adrian Sutil +1.20
Robert Kubica +1.10
Rubens Barrichello +0.73
Vitaly Petrov +0.67
Nico Rosberg +0.45
Michael Schumacher +0.27
Fernando Alonso 0.00
Felipe Massa -0.25
Nico H???lkenberg -0.56
Sebastian Vettel -1.70
Mark Webber -1.91

Average grid position

Pos Driver Average starting position
1 Sebastian Vettel 1.8
2 Mark Webber 2.2
3 Lewis Hamilton 5.8
4 Nico Rosberg 6.6
5 Felipe Massa 6.8
6 Robert Kubica 6.9
7 Fernando Alonso 7.0
8 Jenson Button 7.8
9 Michael Schumacher 9.3
10 Rubens Barrichello 10.5
11 Adrian Sutil 11.1
12 Nico H???lkenberg 11.9
13 Vitaly Petrov 13.4
14 Pedro de la Rosa 13.5
15 Sebastien Buemi 13.9
16 Vitantonio Liuzzi 14.5
17 Kamui Kobayashi 14.6
18 Jaime Alguersuari 15.9
19 Heikki Kovalainen 19.0
20 Jarno Trulli 19.3
21 Timo Glock 20.2
22 Lucas di Grassi 22.3
23 Bruno Senna 22.3
24 Sakon Yamamoto 23.3
25 Karun Chandhok 23.5

Time out-qualified team mate

Apart from Sakon Yamamoto, every driver has now qualified in front of a team mate at least once this year:

Pos Driver Times out-qualified team mate
1 Robert Kubica 11
1 Timo Glock 11
3 Sebastien Buemi 10
3 Adrian Sutil 10
3 Nico Rosberg 10
7 Rubens Barrichello 8
6 Fernando Alonso 9
7 Lewis Hamilton 8
7 Bruno Senna 8
10 Pedro de la Rosa 7
12 Jarno Trulli 6
10 Sebastian Vettel 7
14 Mark Webber 5
12 Heikki Kovalainen 6
14 Kamui Kobayashi 5
16 Karun Chandhok 4
16 Jenson Button 4
18 Felipe Massa 3
18 Nico H???lkenberg 3
20 Michael Schumacher 2
20 Vitantonio Liuzzi 2
20 Jaime Alguersuari 2
23 Lucas di Grassi 1
23 Vitaly Petrov 1
25 Sakon Yamamoto 0

Spotted any interesting facts and stats in the Hungarian Grand Prix? Post them in the comments below.

2010 Hungarian Grand Prix

Browse all 2010 Hungarian Grand Prix articles

Image (C) Red Bull/Getty images

Advert | Go Ad-free


72 comments on Red Bull mark 100th F1 start with win (Hungarian Grand Prix facts and stats)

  1. LuvinF1 said on 2nd August 2010, 18:15

    … and a footnote for two fabulous drivers, Jochen R who drove to the age of 28 and Gilles V to the age of 32.

  2. Butler258 said on 2nd August 2010, 18:27

    Its the 2nd time in as many years that there was a rouge wheel because of a dodgy pitstop.

  3. Paul Gilbert said on 2nd August 2010, 22:30

    This was Barrichello’s 300th GP, although he has only started 296 of them.

  4. Enigma (@enigma) said on 3rd August 2010, 13:12

    Does anyone know what was the last time someone had 3 pole positions in a row yet didn’t win a race?

    • Ilanin said on 3rd August 2010, 13:37

      It used to happen quite frequently:
      In 1993 Alain Prost took pole at the Hungarian, Belgian and Italian Grands Prix, all of which were won by Damon Hill in the other Williams.
      In 1994 Ayrton Senna took pole at the Brazilian, Pacific and San Marino Grands Prix, all of which were won by Michael Schumacher
      In 1995 Damon Hill took pole at the French, British and German Grands Prix, which were won by Schumacher (twice) and Herbert. (He then took a fourth consecutive pole at Hungary and actually won that race).
      In 1999 Mika Hakkinen took pole in Britain, Austria and Germany, races won by Coulthard and Irvine (twice).
      In 2000 Hakkinen did it again, taking pole in Australia, Brazil and San Marino, with Schumacher winning all three races.
      The last time it happened was also the weirdest – Juan Pablo Montoya took *five* poles in a row (Monaco, Canada, Europe, Britain, France) in 2002 without winning any of the races, those going to Coulthard, Barrichello, and Schumacher (three times).

      • GeeMac said on 3rd August 2010, 13:47

        That is a truly awesome bit of research. *dofs his cap*

      • Enigma (@enigma) said on 3rd August 2010, 13:57

        To add to your research: from 1970 to 1993:

        – 1990 Senna lost 3 poles in a row
        – 1987 Mansell lost 3 poles in a row
        – 1984 Piquet lost 3 poles in a row
        – 1980 Arnoux lost 3 poles in a row
        – 1977 Hunt lost 3 poles in a row
        – 1975 Lauda lost 3 poles in a row
        – 1974 Lauda lost 5 poles in a row, just like Montoya.

        So, since 1970, Vettel is the 11th driver to lose 3 or more poles in a row. In that time it has happened on 14 occasions (it’s happened to Senna, Lauda and Hakkinen twice each).

        Does anyone have any idea for the time from 1950 to 1970? Has anyone ever lost more than 5 poles in a row?

        And, will Vettel keep losing poles? If he loses poles in Spa, Monza and Singapore, that will be 6 in a row. That would be the first time in the last 40 years.

  5. Enigma (@enigma) said on 3rd August 2010, 13:14

    The last three races were won by a driver who started 2nd on the grid.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.

Skip to toolbar