Hamilton’s second lights-to-flag win (Belgian Grand Prix stats and facts)

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Lewis Hamilton, McLaren, Spa-Francorchamps, 2010

Lewis Hamilton’s 14th career win was only the second time he’d led every lap of an F1 race.

But Ferrari’s feat of having both their cars classified in every race this year came to an end when Fernando Alonso crashed out.

Read on for the stats and facts from the Belgian Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton scored his third win of the year and 14th of his career. He’s now won as many races as Jack Brabham, Graham Hill and Emerson Fittipaldi.

Hamilton led every lap of the race, something he had only done once before in F1, at the Hungaroring in 2007.

No team other than McLaren or Ferrari have won the Belgian Grand Prix since Jordan scored a one-two in 1998. This year saw McLaren’s first win at the track since 2005, though of course they won “on the road” with Hamilton in 2008.

The McLaren driver also set his third fastest lap of the year. A prize is given to the driver with the most at the end of the season, and Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel are currently tied for first with three each. It was the sixth fastest lap of Hamilton’s career.

Red Bull started from pole position for the 12th time in 13 races. It was the sixth of Mark Webber’s career, giving him as many as countryman Alan Jones plus Fittipaldi, Phil Hill, Jean-Pierre Jabouille, Carlos Reutemann and Ralf Schumacher.

For the first time this year one of the Ferraris failed to be classified at the end of the race (Alonso stopped before the end of the Malaysian Grand Prix but had already completed 90% of the race distance). The only driver to have finished every race this year is Felipe Massa.

Rubens Barrichello recorded his 300th Grand Prix start – more stats on that later this week. Unfortunately he failed to complete a single lap of this landmark race.

Jaime Alguersuari started from a career-best 11th, having been promoted from 13th after both Mercedes drivers were given penalties. Michael Schumacher started from the second-worst grid position of his career, 21st.

See the updated post-race statistics in full here: F1 2010 statistics


Driver Podiums
Lewis Hamilton 7
Mark Webber 7
Sebastian Vettel 6
Jenson Button 5
Fernando Alonso 5
Nico Rosberg 3
Felipe Massa 3
Robert Kubica 3

Racing laps completed

Pos Driver Laps completed
1 Felipe Massa 780
2 Fernando Alonso 772
3 Lewis Hamilton 732
3 Mark Webber 732
5 Michael Schumacher 731
6 Sebastian Vettel 728
7 Nico Rosberg 724
8 Jaime Alguersuari 701
9 Robert Kubica 700
10 Rubens Barrichello 683
11 Jenson Button 675
12 Adrian Sutil 674
12 Vitantonio Liuzzi 674
14 Vitaly Petrov 662
15 Nico H???lkenberg 629
16 Heikki Kovalainen 588
17 Sebastien Buemi 570
18 Jarno Trulli 547
19 Timo Glock 527
20 Lucas di Grassi 520
21 Pedro de la Rosa 485
22 Karun Chandhok 479
23 Kamui Kobayashi 457
24 Bruno Senna 434
25 Sakon Yamamoto 177

Spotted any interesting stats and facts from the Belgian Grand Prix weekend? Share them in the comments below.

2010 Belgian Grand Prix

Browse all 2010 Belgian Grand Prix articles

Image (C) www.mclaren.com