No 13th F1 team in 2011

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Jarno Trulli, Lotus, Spa-Francorchamps, 2010

There will be no 13th team on the F1 grid in 2011.

The World Motor Sport Council announced today that none of the applications met their criteria to fill the vacant place on the grid, meaning there will be a maximu mof 24 cars competing in Formula 1 next year.

An FIA statement said:

Following the press release of 19 March 2010 calling for expressions of interest to participate in the 2011 and 2012 seasons of the FIA Formula One World Championship, a number of interested parties expressed their interest.

It was considered that none of the candidates met the requirements to be granted an entry into the Championship.

Consequently, the allocation of the 13th team will not be granted.

Spanish team Epsilon Euskadi and a collaboration between former GP2 team Durango and 1997 world champion Jacques Villeneuve were among those to have applied.

Epsilon Euskadi recently announced they had begun testing a wind tunnel model of their car for 2011.

Read more: 2011 F1 drivers and teams

Image ?? Lotus F1