Alonso’s second Monza hat-trick is more popular (Italian GP stats and facts)

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

It wasn’t the first time Fernando Alonso had won from pole position and set fastest lap at Monza.

But doing it for Ferrari on hallowed Monza ground was more popular with the crowd than it was when he did the same for McLaren three years ago.

Read on for more stats and facts from the Italian Grand Prix.

Fernando Alonso gave Ferrari their first pole position since Felipe Massa started first at Interlagos in 2008.

It was his first pole position for the team and his first since Hungary last year. He has now started from first place in 19 races.

You have to go back to Niki Lauda in 1974 to find the last time a new Ferrari driver started from pole position in his first appearance for the team at Monza. The last Ferrari driver to win at Monza on his Ferrari debut was Michael Schumacher in 1996.

Alonso’s 24th career win gives him as many as Juan Manuel Fangio – the ninth-highest wins total of all time.

It was his second victory in the Italian Grand Prix, though as he admitted after the race it was a bit more popular with the Italian crowd than his 2007 win for McLaren:

In 2007 they were not saying very nice things or words about us as we crossed the line because we were rivals. I think McLaren was also fighting for the championship against Ferrari, so winning here was not the best thing for them and winning today, you get involved in this atmosphere with the Italian national anthem as well with all the people. It feels great.
Fernando Alonso

He achieved his fourth hat-trick of pole position, win and fastest lap – the other three came at Britain in 2007, and Monaco and Italy in 2007.

It was the 16th fastest lap of his career. He, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton have all set three fastest laps this year.

There was no Red Bull on the front row of the grid for the first time since last year’s Italian Grand Prix. Sixth on the grid for Sebastian Vettel was his worst starting position this year.

Jenson Button qualified in second place, his first front-row start for McLaren. Second place on race day was his 30th podium finish.

The last time a Red Bull failed to score a point was at last year’s European Grand Prix. Since then they have scored points in 20 consecutive races. McLaren are the only other team to score in every race this year.

Bruno Senna has finished just five of the 13 races he has started this year. He has suffered more race-ending car failures than any other driver – yesterday’s was his seventh (see here for a full list).

Frustratingly for Senna the other car, which has been used by Karun Chandhok and Sakon Yamamoto, has only broken down once in a race.

Despite starting every race this year Kamui Kobayashi has completed fewer racing laps (457) than Chandhok, who has been on the sidelines for four Grands Prix (see here for a full list).

Spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Italian Grand Prix? Post them in the comments.

Read more: F1 2010 statistics

2010 Italian Grand Prix

Browse all 2010 Italian Grand Prix articles

Images ??, Bridgestone/Ercole Colombo