Six-race calendar for GP2 Asia in 2011

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

GP2 Asia supported F1 at Abu Dhabi last year

The fourth GP2 Asia championship will be contested over just six races. It will be its shortest season yet, half the length of the calendar used two years ago.

The next edition of the championship will take place entirely in 2011 – the previous two series were split across two years.

As in the previous season, all the races will take place at Bahrain and Yas Marina:

February 11th-12th – Abu Dhabi, Yas Marina Circuit (two races)
February 18h-19th – Bahrain, Bahrain International Circuit (two races)
March 12th-13th – Bahrain, Bahrain International Circuit (two races)

The season finale will support the first race of the 2011 Formula 1 season.

This year’s Abu Dhabi Grand Prix is supported by two rounds of the GP2 main series, taking place two months after the last races in that season. Last year GP2 Asia supported that race.

The series has previously visited Sentul in Indonesia, Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia, Dubai Autodrome in the Dubai, Shanghai International Circuit in China and Losail in Qatar.

GP2 Asia Series CEO Bruno Michel said:

It is true that this season?s calendar is particularly short due to the fact that we have a new car to deliver to our teams.

It will be the first that we use the same car for both GP2 Asia and GP2 Series, and it will definitely be an exciting new season: not only will we have a new car, new tyres, new drivers, but also two new teams with Carlin and Team Air Asia joining us.
Bruno Michel

The numbers of the 13 teams competing are as follows:

iSport International – 1-2
Arden International – 3-4
ART Grand Prix – 5-6
Super Nova Racing – 7-8
Dams – 9-10
Scuderia Coloni – 11-12
Ocean Racing Technology – 14-15
Barwa Addax Team – 16-17
Trident Racing – 18-19
Rapax – 20-21
Racing Engineering – 22-23
Carlin – 24-25
Team Air Asia – 26-27

Davide Valsecchi won last year’s GP2 Asia championship.

Image ?? GP2 Media Service/LAT