Vettel adds to his tallies – except fastest lap (Japanese Grand Prix stats and facts)

Posted on | Author Keith Collantine

Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Suzuka, 2010

Sebastian Vettel was in crushing form at Suzuka and stamped his authority all over the Japanese Grand Prix weekend.

Although he wasn’t quite able to match Fernando Alonso’s Singapore feat of a perfect result he came very near to finishing on top in every session in Suzuka.

The only time his name failed to appear at the top of the screen at the end of a session was in third practice, when chose not to set a time.

The Saturday washout meant qualifying and the race were held on the same day for only the second time in F1 history. The same also happened at Suzuka six years ago.

Sebastian Vettel enjoyed near-total domination of the race weekend. He finished top of every session except the rain-hit third practice, where he didn’t set a time.

He has started from pole position in half of the races this year (eight out of 16) but has won on only three occasions, and just twice from pole.

With just three races remaining the record for most pole positions in a single season – 14, by Nigel Mansell in 1992 – is already out of his reach.

His 13th career pole position gives him as many as Graham Hill, Jack Brabham, Jacky Ickx, Jacques Villeneuve and Juan Pablo Montoya. Win number eight puts him level with Jacky Ickx and Denny Hulme.

This was also the first time Vettel has won twice at the same track. Only one driver has won more than twice in F1 races at Suzuka: Michael Schumacher, with six wins scored in 1995, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2004.

Mark Webber stopped Vettel from getting fastest lap by setting a 1’33.474 on the last lap of the race. That means Webber now has as many fastest laps in his career as Vettel and Lewis Hamilton: six.

Second place for Webber sealed Red Bull’s seventh one-two. One more will give them as many as Brabham, Lotus and Tyrrell. After that the next highest on the list is Williams – with 33.

Red Bull have led 543 of the 948 racing laps so far this season – more than half. McLaren have led 230 and Ferrari 158. The remainder were led by Nico Rosberg (16) and Sebastien Buemi (1).

The most races won by any driver over the 16 races so far this year is four, which Mark Webber and Fernando Alonso have done. You have to go back to 1983 (which was a 15-race championship) to find the last time the most races won by a single driver was so low. There were eight different winners that year – so far this year there have been five.

Schumacher finished in the points for the 200th time in his career. He has scored points in 75.75% of the 264 races he has started. During the span of his career the number of points-paying positions increased from six to eight, in 2003, and now to ten.

Sauber scored their best result of the year with Kamui Kobayashi seventh and Nick Heidfeld eighth.

All the teams that had both their cars still running at the end of the Japanese Grand Prix had them in consecutive positions: Red Bull first and second, McLaren fourth and fifth, Sauber seventh and eighth, Toro Rosso tenth and 11th, Lotus 12th and 13th and HRT 15th and 16th.


Felipe Massa failed to finish a race for the first time in 2010. That means every driver has now failed to finish at least once:

Driver Mechanical Accident Total retirements
Bruno Senna 7 2 9
Kamui Kobayashi 4 4 8
Pedro de la Rosa 5 2 7
Timo Glock 6 1 7
Lucas di Grassi 6 1 7
Jarno Trulli 6 0 6
Heikki Kovalainen 3 2 5
Sebastien Buemi 1 3 4
Vitaly Petrov 2 2 4
Nico H???lkenberg 1 3 4
Vitantonio Liuzzi 1 3 4
Lewis Hamilton 1 2 3
Robert Kubica 3 0 3
Adrian Sutil 2 1 3
Sebastian Vettel 1 1 2
Karun Chandhok 0 2 2
Jaime Alguersuari 2 0 2
Jenson Button 1 1 2
Rubens Barrichello 1 1 2
Nico Rosberg 1 0 1
Michael Schumacher 1 0 1
Mark Webber 0 1 1
Sakon Yamamoto 1 0 1
Fernando Alonso 0 1 1
Christian Klien 1 0 1
Nick Heidfeld 0 1 1
Felipe Massa 0 1 1

Find more season statistics here: F1 2010 statistics

2010 Japanese Grand Prix

Browse all 2010 Japanese Grand Prix articles

Images ?? Red Bull/Getty images