Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Abu Dhabi, 2010

From third to champion: Vettel matches Farina and R??ikk??nen

Abu Dhabi GP stats and factsPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Abu Dhabi, 2010
Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, Abu Dhabi, 2010

As well as becoming the youngest ever world champion there are a few other remarkable points about Sebastian Vettel’s championship victory.

First of all, he had never led the championship at any point in his career until he won the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. He was level with Mark Webber on points after Monaco, but Webber’s greater number of wins meant he was ahead.

He is only the third driver in the history of the world championship to win the title having gone into the final round in third place in the standings. The other two were Giuseppe Farina in 1950 and Kimi R??ikk??nen in 2007.

The season ended with the top four drivers covered by just 16 points. That’s the closest it had been since the Canadian Grand Prix, following which Hamilton, Button, Webber and Alonso were covered by 15 points, with Vettel a further four behind.

At no point during the season did the driver who was leading the world championship win a race. That last driver to do so was Jenson Button at Istanbul last year.

Vettel succeeds Button as the 32nd world champion. For more on his accomplishment as world champion see here:

He is the fifth different driver in as many years to win the world championship. The last comparable streak was from 1976 to 1982 when there was a different world champion for seven consecutive seasons: James Hunt, Niki Lauda, Mario Andretti, Jody Scheckter, Alan Jones, Nelson Piquet and Keke Rosberg.

Vettel began the weekend with his tenth pole position of the year and the 15th of his career. He has now set as many pole positions as Felipe Massa, but in 62 starts to Massa’s 133.

This was his tenth career victory, giving him as many wins as James Hunt, Ronnie Peterson, Jody Scheckter and Gerhard Berger.

Lewis Hamilton beat him to fastest lap, setting the eighth of his career, giving him as many as James Hunt, Gilles Villeneuve and Ralf Schumacher.

McLaren scored points in every race in 2010.

There will be more on the records that were broken this year in the 2010 F1 season review. You can find more statistics from this season here:

And you can compare how every driver performed compared to their team mate throughout 2010 here:

Spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix? Share them in the comments.

2010 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Browse all 2010 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix articles