Champion of Champions: Ayrton Senna vs Graham Hill

Ayrton Senna vs Graham Hill

Champion of ChampionsPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

Champion of Champions: Ayrton Senna vs Graham Hill

Ayrton Senna and Graham Hill not only won the world championship on more than one occasion, they were also runner-up several times too.

Senna won the title three times and was runner-up twice, whereas Hill won the championship twice and placed second in three consecutive years, from 1963 to 1965.

But while Hill set a record for competing in 18 seasons – a record equalled last year by Rubens Barrichello – Senna’s was tragically curtailed when he was killed at Imola.

However the final years of Hill’s career came after he was badly injured in a crash at Watkins Glen in 1969. It clearly impaired his later performances and his days of driving for top teams like BRM and Lotus were soon over.

Both Senna and Hill also shared a team with another of the great drivers of their day.

Senna was partnered with Alain Prost at McLaren in 1988 and 1989, winning a title apiece. Hill joined Jim Clark at Lotus in 1967. That partnership was brought to an end by Clark’s untimely death in 1968.

In 1969 Hill won the Monaco Grand Prix for the fifth time – a record, until Senna scored his sixth Monaco victory in 1993.

Coincidentally, Senna’s final team mate was Graham’s son Damon – his opponent in the first round of Champion of Champions.

But which of these drivers should go through to the quarter-finals? Vote for which you think was best below and explain who you voted for and why in the comments.

Ayrton Senna Graham Hill
Ayrton Senna, Williams, 1994 Graham Hill
Titles 1988, 1990, 1991 1962, 1968
Second in title year/s Alain Prost, Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart
Teams Toleman, Lotus, McLaren, Williams Lotus, BRM, Brabham, Embassy
Notable team mates Alain Prost, Gerhard Berger, Mika Hakkinen Richie Ginther, Jackie Stewart, Jim Clark
Starts 161 175
Wins 41 (25.47%) 14 (8.00%)
Poles 65 (40.37%) 13 (7.43%)
Modern points per start1 11.68 6.02
% car failures2 20.50 33.14
Modern points per finish3 14.70 9.00
Notes Won three titles in four years with McLaren Narrowly lost 1964 title to John Surtees after being hit by Lorenzo Bandini
Controversial clash with Prost sealed second title Won second title in 1968 following team mate Jim Clark’s death
Killed in third race for Williams in 1994 Died in a light aircraft accident shortly after concluding then-record 176-race career
Bio Ayrton Senna Graham Hill

1 How many points they scored in their career, adjusted to the 2010 points system, divided by the number of races they started
2 The percentage of races in which they were not classified due to a mechanical failure
3 How many points they scored in their career, adjusted to the 2010 points system, divided by the number of starts in which they did not suffer a race-ending mechanical failure

Round one

Which was the better world champion driver?

  • Ayrton Senna (89%)
  • Graham Hill (11%)

Total Voters: 538

Loading ... Loading ...

You need an F1 Fanatic account to vote. Register an account here or read more about registering here.

Read the F1 Fanatic Champion of Champions introduction for more information and remember to check back tomorrow for the next round.

Have you voted in the previous rounds of Champion of Champions yet? Find them all here:

Champion of Champions

Browse all Champion of Champions articles

Images ?? Williams/Sutton (Senna), Brian Waddell (Hill)

68 comments on “Ayrton Senna vs Graham Hill”

Jump to comment page: 1 2
Jump to comment page: 1 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.