Sergio Perez, Sauber, Barcelona, 2011

Perez is first Mexican in points for 30 years

2011 Spanish GP stats and factsPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

Sergio Perez, Sauber, Barcelona, 2011
Sergio Perez, Sauber, Barcelona, 2011

Sergio Perez scored the first points of his F1 career. He did, of course, finish in the points in Australia, before Sauber were disqualified.

He is the first Mexican driver to score in F1 since Hector Rebaque finished for Brabham in the 1981 Dutch Grand Prix.

Mark Webber broken Sebastian Vettel’s five-race streak of pole positions.

He started from first place for the seventh time in his career, as many as Jacques Laffite and Jenson Button.

But Webber’s lead was short-lived and he is still yet to lead a lap in 2011. Vettel, meanwhile, has led 223 out of 294 racing laps this year (75.85%).

It was the first time the pole sitter has failed to win the Spanish Grand Prix since 2000, when Michael Schumacher started from pole and finished behind Mika Hakkinen.

Vettel started from the first row of the grid for the tenth race in a row. Only four drivers have managed more consecutive front row starts:

Driver Front rows Races
Ayrton Senna 24 1988 German – 1989 Australian Grand Prix
Damon Hill 17 1995 Australian – 1996 Japanese Grand Prix
Alain Prost 16 1993 South African – Australian Grand Prix
Nigel Mansell 15 1986 Australian – 1987 Mexican Grand Prix
Mario Andretti 10 1978 Belgian – United States East Grand Prix
Sebastian Vettel 10 2010 Singapore – 2011 Spanish Grand Prix

Vettel won his 14th race which puts him level with multiple champions Graham Hill, Jack Brabham and Emerson Fittipaldi. It was his seventh win in nine starts – and he retired from one of those while leading.

He now has 118 points after five races – he needed twice as many starts to surpass that score last year.

Kamui Kobayashi finished tenth for the third race in a row and Jerome D’Ambrosio finished 20th for the third race in a row.

There were only four drivers left on the lead lap by the end of the race. That’s the fewest since the 2008 British Grand Prix, when Lewis Hamilton, Nick Heidfeld and Rubens Barrichello were the only drivers to complete all 60 laps.

Felipe Massa, Michael Schumacher, Jarno Trulli and Narain Karthikeyan have been beaten by their team mates in every qualifying session this year.

Pirelli supplied their hard and soft tyre for the first five races. Staying true to his reputation for being kind on his tyres, Jenson Button spent the most laps on the soft compound during races: 199 laps.

Sebastien Buemi got the most use out of the hard tyre, managing 136 laps on the more durable compound.

Pirelli’s hopes the new hard compound tyre introduced this weekend would reduce the number of pit stops were not realised. There were 77 in Spain compared to 81 in Turkey.

Review the year so far in statistics here:

Spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Spanish Grand Prix? Share them in the comments.

2011 Spanish Grand Prix

Browse all 2011 Spanish Grand Prix articles

Image ?? Sauber F1 Team

64 comments on “Perez is first Mexican in points for 30 years”

Jump to comment page: 1 2
  1. We’ve had five different third place finishers in the five races so far: Petrov, Heidfeld, Webber, Alonso and Button.

    Talking of third places, when Vettel came third in FP2, it was the first time he came third in any F1 session since finishing third in the Hungarian GP last year.

    The Spanish GP was the longest this year and also had the smallest gap between first and second since Singapore 2010.

  2. Good facts as always!

    I know there were less races in years gone by but it’s crazy to see Vettel matching the likes of Hill and Fitipaldi on race wins.

  3. Heidfeld and D’Ambrosio the only drivers to have finished every race higher than their qualifying position? Karthikeyen too for every race he has participated in.

    1. Actually it’s only Heidfeld, not a bad record I think!

    2. Re. Karthikeyan, seeing as he starts last every time, his achievement isn’t quite as impressive as Heidfeld’s…!

  4. Sebastien Buemi & Adrian Sutil are the only 2 drivers to finish every race this year and not get a podium.

    Every driver who has had a podium finish has finished every race.

  5. Sebastien Buemi & Adrian Sutil are the only drivers to finish every race and not have a podium finish.

    All the drivers who have had a podium finish have finished every race.

  6. Nick Heidfeld climbed from 24th to 8th, a climb of 16 places, the highest this year…

    Webber only climbed 15 places in China, and Kobayashi gained 14 in Turkey…

  7. Keith, any idea when was the last time that both Ferrari were lapped?

    1. I think is 2008 British GP

Jump to comment page: 1 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments are moderated. See the Comment Policy and FAQ for more.