Mark Webber, Sebastian Vettel, Jenson Button, Monaco, 2011

Vettel takes pole in disrupted qualifying

2011 Monaco GP qualifyingPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

Mark Webber, Sebastian Vettel, Jenson Button, Monaco, 2011
Mark Webber, Sebastian Vettel, Jenson Button, Monaco, 2011

Sebastian Vettel took his fifth pole position of the year in Monaco.

The Red Bull driver shares the front row of the grid with Jenson Button.

The session was stopped for almost 40 minutes following a crash involving Sergio Perez.


Nico Rosberg was able to join in the session following his crash in morning practice.

But HRT decided the damage to Vitantonio Liuzzi’s car couldn’t be fixed in time and didn’t send him out. Nor did Narain Karthikeyan complete a lap during the session.

The two McLarens headed the times, both drivers using a single set of soft tyres to make it through. Sebastian Vettel, third, and Fernando Alonso, seventh, did likewise.

Mark Webber and Felipe Massa chose to do an extra run each.

The two Lotuses were half a second off making it into Q2, Heikki Kovalainen only fractionally faster than Jarno Trulli.

Jaime Alguersuari collided with Kamui Kobayashi at Rascasse and dropped out in 20th place, ahead of the two Virgins.

Drivers eliminated in Q1

18 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 1’17.343
19 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1’17.381
20 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1’17.820
21 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1’17.914
22 Jerome d’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1’18.736
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT No time
24 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT No time


Hamilton headed the times in Q2 as well as Vettel got within two thousandths of a second of the McLaren.

Neither Renault made it into the final ten, having been on the front row last year.

A late improvement from Pastor Maldonado got him into Q3 at the expense of his team mate.

Sergio Perez also made it through in ninth place, while team mate Kobayashi was eliminated in 13th.

Both Force Indias were eliminated, with Paul di Resta in front of Adrian Sutil. Sebastien Buemi also failed to progress in the Toro Rosso.

Drivers eliminated in Q2

11 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1’15.815
12 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1’15.826
13 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1’15.973
14 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1’16.118
15 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1’16.121
16 Nick Heidfeld Renault 1’16.214
17 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1’16.300


Jenson Button set the fastest time to begin with but Sebastian Vettel found four-tenths of a second to beat Button’s time.

The other Red Bull of Mark Webber was the best part of half a second slower than his team mate.

Lewis Hamilton did not join in the early runs but lost time on his first run when he caught Felipe Massa’s Ferrari.

Sergio Perez was doing his first run of the session when his car snapped out of control as he dropped towards the chicane.

The Sauber made heavy contact with the TecPro barrier, which was moved back several metres in the impact. The session was red-flagged while Perez was recovered.

Qualifying restarted 35 minutes after it was originally supposed to end, with Lewis Hamilton getting to the pit lane exit early to ensure a clear lap.

But he could only manage a 1’15.280 for seventh on the grid, confirming Vettel on pole position.

Top ten in Q3

1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1’13.556
2 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1’13.997
3 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1’14.019
4 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1’14.483
5 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1’14.682
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1’14.877
7 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1’15.280
8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1’15.766
9 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1’16.528
10 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari No time

2011 Monaco Grand Prix

Browse all 2011 Monaco Grand Prix articles