Lewis Hamilton, McLaren, Korea, 2011

Last-lap flier puts Hamilton on top in India

2011 Indian GP first practicePosted on | Author Keith Collantine

Lewis Hamilton was quickest in the first practice session for the Indian Grand Prix.

The McLaren driver hit the top of the times with his last lap of the session.

The Red Bulls of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber were second and third, separated by one hundredth of a second.

Jenson Button was a slightly frustrated fourth-fastest having been held up by Narain Karthikeyan late in the session.

The first practice session for the Indian Grand Prix began with the four Indian representatives jostling to be first out of the pits.

Adrian Sutil won this minor contest for Force India, before being overtaken by Karun Chandhok. The other Force India of Paul di Resta followed them, along with Karthikeyan.

While the others did single installation laps, Chandhok remained on track to set the first ever lap of the new circuit.

Proceedings came to a halt soon after as Chandhok passed a dog on his subsequent tour. Several had been spotted around the track before the start of the session.

The session was restarted after a five-minute delay and continued without further canine interruptions.

Fernando Alonso dropped out of the session halfway through when he lost power on his Ferrari, leaving Felipe Massa to complete the day’s work for the team. He ran the new front wing Alonso had raced in Korea, which was seen vibrating heavily at turn four at one point.

Drivers struggled for grip on the dusty track and several of them ran wide or had spins during the session. The only one to make it as far as a barrier was Jaime Alguersuari, who went off at turn nine.

It was slippery in the pit lane as well as Chandhok found out to his cost. The Lotus driver almost hit Pastor Maldonado as he got too much wheelspin while leaving his pit bix.

Maldonado’s session ended early as plumes of smoke came from his Williams at the exit of turn four, forcing him to pull over.

The yellow flags came out as the car was recovered and were being withdrawn as Hamilton set his final flying lap.

Michael Schumacher ended the session fifth ahead of his team mate, having been fastest early on.

Felipe Massa was seventh for Ferrari with Sutil, Sebastien Buemi and Kamui Kobayashi completing the top ten.

Update: Follow the session Hamilton and Sergio Perez were given penalties for ignoring double waved yellow flags.

Pos. Car Driver Car Best lap Gap
1 3 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1’26.836 22
2 1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1’27.416 0.580 23
3 2 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1’27.428 0.592 27
4 4 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1’28.394 1.558 23
5 7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1’28.531 1.695 23
6 8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1’28.542 1.706 29
7 6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1’28.644 1.808 22
8 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1’28.705 1.869 23
9 18 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1’29.219 2.383 24
10 16 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1’29.355 2.519 29
11 15 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1’29.700 2.864 24
12 10 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1’29.705 2.869 22
13 9 Bruno Senna Renault 1’29.799 2.963 20
14 17 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1’30.132 3.296 25
15 11 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1’30.367 3.531 21
16 19 Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1’30.566 3.730 19
17 12 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 1’30.669 3.833 22
18 21 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 1’30.818 3.982 22
19 20 Karun Chandhok Lotus-Renault 1’32.487 5.651 24
20 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1’32.771 5.935 24
21 23 Daniel Ricciardo HRT-Cosworth 1’33.928 7.092 27
22 22 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1’34.113 7.277 30
23 25 Jerome D’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 1’35.796 8.960 19
24 5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1’35.899 9.063 4

2011 Indian Grand Prix

Browse all 2011 Indian Grand Prix articles