Jaime Alguersuari, Toro Rosso, Interlagos, 2011

Alguersuari wins Massa’s kart tournament

F1 Fanatic round-upPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

In the round-up: Jaime Alguersuari wins the Desafio Internacional das Estrelas kart race against a host of F1 stars.


Top F1 links from the past 24 hours:

Surpreso, Alguersuari vence o Desafio das Estrelas (Desafio Internacional das Estrelas)

Alguersuari headed the points standings after the two races ahead of Felipe Massa, Lucas di Grassi, Rubens Barrichello and Ferrari development driver Jules Bianchi.

A bit of a “whodunnit” at Massa?s kart race (Ferrari)

“The two legs were won by Jules Bianchi, but he was disqualified after the second leg when his kart was found to contravene the weight regulations, being 600g under the regulation minimum.”

Sebastien Ogier crowned Champion of Champions (Race of Champions)

Michael Schumacher was the only F1 driver to reach the semi-finals of the Race of Champions. He was knocked out by Tom Kristensen, who lost to Sebastien Ogier in the final.

Button defends Hamilton’s performance (Autosport)

“I feel that I was driving better, and I obviously can’t speak for Lewis [Hamilton]. He had some pretty tough races but he also had some great races. In Abu Dhabi he was untouchable. He’s still got the speed.”

Bahrain jails bodybuilding champion, other sportsmen (Reuters)

“They were found guilty of illegal congregation, inciting hatred for the system, and not obeying orders regarding involvement in politics.”

Bomb blast close to British embassy in Bahrain (BBC)

“A UK Foreign Office spokeswoman said it was aware of a small blast, in the capital Manama, which had caused no casualties nor damage to the embassy.”

Add $125,000 for drinks to the cost of the Grand Prix (The Age)

“The Baillieu government said it had requested that the Australian Grand Prix Corporation reduce its hospitality expenses.”

Vettel, Webber for FIA Awards Gala in Delhi (Deccan Herald)

[Sebastian] Vettel, who won the inaugural Indian GP, will be officially crowned the 2011 Champion at the award ceremony which has been moved to India from the traditional venue in Monaco.”

Runners revel in Webber race (The Mercury)

“The inaugural Mark Webber Adventure run was a smash-hit among the 233 competitors who turned out on a wintry summer’s day for the 6.5km fun run from Henry Jones Hotel, over the Queens Domain, and return.”

Follow F1 news as it breaks using the F1 Fanatic live Twitter app.

Comment of the day

Dizzy spots a trend in the ten most popular nominations for Pass of the Year:

Note how none of the best overtakes this year had anything to do with DRS.

Proves what I?ve been saying all year about DRS creating boring and unexciting passing. Ditch it!

From the forum

Happy birthday!

No F1 Fanatic birthdays today. If you want a birthday shout-out tell us when yours is by emailling me, using Twitter or adding to the list here.

On this day in F1

I’ve often been told that fans would like to see teams and drivers get to keep the same numbers from year to year. As far as I’m concerned, it’s not hard to see the appeal of F1 going down this route, which is widespread in other top motor racing categories.

At the moment the FIA assigns the teams’ numbers based on their finishing positions in the previous year’s championship. This means all the teams’ numbers can change from year to year.

Ten years ago today the FIA decided it would return to letting teams keep the same number from year to year. However, there was a change of heart before the beginning of the 2002 season, and the current system has remained in place ever since.

It wouldn’t make a great difference next season anyway as several teams finished in the same position they did last year.