Raikkonen to get five-place penalty for qualifying

2012 Malaysian Grand Prix

Kimi Raikkonen, Lotus, Sepang, 2012Kimi Raikkonen is set to be demoted five places on the grid for the Malaysian Grand Prix.

The Lotus driver has had to have a gearbox change, which will incur a five-place penalty.

Raikkonen’s gearbox overheated during the Australian Grand Prix after he went off the track, though he was able to finish the race.

The team initially believed the gearbox was fit enough to be used again over a race distance. However after inspecting the unit in Malaysia they concluded it was too much of a risk to try to finish another race with the gearbox.

2012 Malaysian Grand Prix


Browse all 2012 Malaysian Grand Prix articles

Image ?? Lotus F1 Team/LAT

Advert | Go Ad-free

49 comments on Raikkonen to get five-place penalty for qualifying

  1. Icthyes (@icthyes) said on 23rd March 2012, 18:00

    I’ve always wondered why the gearbox rule is like this, but with the engine rules you can switch them as much as you like as long as you don’t use too many. It’s potentially the same for everyone, but I don’t see the logic in stating they must be used consecutively. Can anyone shed any light?

    • Metallion (@metallion) said on 23rd March 2012, 19:02

      I’ve been wondering about the exact same thing since they changed the rules for the engine that you can change whenever you want as long as you only use a certain number during the season. Why didn’t they change the rules for the gearbox at the same time. It would have been the logical thing to do.

  2. AndrewTanner (@andrewtanner) said on 23rd March 2012, 18:36

    Third time lucky for China, eh? ;)

  3. Hairpin (@hairpin) said on 23rd March 2012, 19:34

    You cannot change engines as you like as long as you don’t use too many. The rules state
    ” If an engine is changed in accordance with Article 34.1 the engine which was replaced
    may not be used during any future qualifying session or race with the exception of the
    last Event of the Championship”
    It would be more helpful to not say anything if you don’t know or can’t be bothered to look up the relevant rule, instead of just speculating or spreading rumour, it’s just confusing to others.

    • mark (@markp) said on 23rd March 2012, 22:58

      I am completly ignorant of the exact rules but does this not apply to when you have used your whole allocation or from fp3 onwards. I thought you could use any of your allocated engines and alternate between rounds, you just cannot change during the grand prix weekend from fp3 onwards or you will incur a penalty. If same applied for gearboxes then this would not be an issue.

  4. insider said on 23rd March 2012, 22:32

    Unfortunate, but the Iceman won’t break for this. 5 more places to catch up ? Kimi can do it before turn 1, if he does not have to run into the grass because some rookies made a mess in front of him.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.