Perez is first Mexican on the podium in over 40 years

2012 Malaysian Grand Prix stats and facts

Sergio Perez, Sauber, Sepang, 2012Sergio Perez scored his best result to date with second in the Malaysian Grand Prix.

It was the first time a Mexican driver has appeared on the podium since Pedro Rodriguez finished second in the 1971 Dutch Grand Prix for BRM – 19 years before Perez was born.

This was also the best result for Sauber as an independent team. They won the 2008 Canadian Grand Prix during their period of ownership by BMW, when they raced as BMW-Sauber.

They finished third as Sauber on six previous occasions, the last being with Heinz-Harald Frenzten in the 2003 United States Grand Prix.

Out of the 679 podium finishes for a Ferrari-engined car, this was only the third scored by a car that wasn’t a Ferrari. The others were David Coulthard’s third place for Red Bull in the 2006 Monaco Grand Prix and Sebastian Vettel’s win for Toro Rosso in Italy two years later.

Perez also led a race for the first time in his F1 career, becoming the 160th different driver to do so.

Alonso joins top five F1 winners

Fernando Alonso’s 28th Grand Prix win surely must be counted as one of his best. It moves him past Jackie Stewart’s tally of 27 and makes him the fifth most successful driver of all time in terms of races won.

He started the race from eighth on the grid, the second-lowest position he has ever won a race from. He won the 2008 Singapore Grand Prix from 15th, but the less said about that race the better.

This is the first time he’s won the same race with three different constructors: he won with Renault in 2005, McLaren in 2007 and now Ferrari.

Team mate Felipe Massa had a dreadful race and finished 15th. Having failed to finish in Australia, it leaves him 19th in the drivers’ championship behind both Marussias: Timo Glock has had a 14th place finish and Charles Pic has a 15th and a 17th.

Hamilton’s 21st pole position

Lewis Hamilton, McLaren, Sepang, 2012Pole position went to Lewis Hamilton for the 21st time in his career, giving him one more than Alonso and Damon Hill.

Despite starting both of this year’s races from pole position, he has only led for 14 out of the 114 laps.

Just two races into his comeback, Kimi Raikkonen has already added to his tally of race fastest laps. He has the third-highest tally of any driver with 36, behind Michael Schumacher (76) and Alain Prost (41).

Sixth for Bruno Senna was his best result so far. It gives Williams eight points, three more than they scored in the whole of last year.

Jean-Eric Vergne scored the first points of his F1 career with eighth place. He is the 320th F1 driver to score points.

There were nine different constructors in the points: Ferrari, Sauber, McLaren, Red Bull, Lotus, Williams, Force India, Toro Rosso and Mercedes. That equals the record set in the 2010 European Grand Prix when Red Bull, McLaren, Williams, Renault, Force India, BMW-Sauber, Ferrari, Toro Rosso and Mercedes all scored.

Romain Grosjean has completed just four racing laps so far this year.

Finally, Narain Karthikeyan equalled the highest position officially held by an HRT driver during a race. He was ninth on lap 13, a position he also occupied during last year’s Canadian Grand Prix. Pic also held eighth place for Marussia for one lap.

Review the year so far in statistics here:

Spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Malaysian Grand Prix? Share them in the comments.

2012 Malaysian Grand Prix

Browse all 2012 Malaysian Grand Prix articles

Image ?? Sauber F1 Team, McLaren/Hoch Zwei

Advert | Go Ad-free


103 comments on Perez is first Mexican on the podium in over 40 years

  1. Keith Collantine (@keithcollantine) said on 27th March 2012, 16:55

    Here’s another one: Of the 114 laps so far this year, the two McLaren drivers have each spent half of them in front of the other.

  2. Palle (@palle) said on 27th March 2012, 20:13

    I’m sure the driver concentrate much more on getting around the track as fast as possible, and they better. A race driver has no use for feeling humble, when driving. That is the time when he has to believe he is better than anyone who has ever lived, and that he is able to pull of the next overtake or defence. Us, the fans, on the contrary, expects our hero to be humble, down to earth, and be able to evaluate, in a professional manner, how the race went for everyone, right after taking their helmet of. The interviewers clearly don’t fathom that the driver haven’t watched the race – he drove it, and therefore he can’t really comment on how the race went for another driver, whom he had little contact with during the race.

  3. Paul Gilbert said on 27th March 2012, 22:56

    Perez also led a race for the first time in his F1 career, becoming the 160th different driver to do so. claims he is the 161st. The difference may be down to on-track leader vs aggregate leader (in races from yesteryear that were stopped and then re-started).

  4. Adam Tate (@adam-tate) said on 28th March 2012, 4:59

    Simply mega seeing nine different constructors in the points. That bodes very well for the rest of the season.

    Only Mansell (31) Senna (41) Prost (51) and Schumacher (91) are ahead of Alonso on wins now. Any bets as to where he will finish his career at? I’d say he is a shoe in to pass Mansell for 4th, but so is Vettel, and possibly Hamilton or Kimi. I can even see Fernando eclipsing Senna’s tally, but if this high level of competition is maintained I don’t see him reaching Prost and certainly not Michael. Only Vettel seems to have a realistic shot at that, and that is only if he can pull RedBull back up to the top.

  5. Palle (@palle) said on 28th March 2012, 6:50

    @Adam Tate: I don’t think Vettel can pull RedBull back at the top – probably only Newey can do this. Alonso was very efficient and lucky these 2 races, but if Ferrari don’t come up with a better Ferrari, then his lead will eventually crumble over the season.

  6. Peter (@peter-t) said on 28th March 2012, 13:13

    Felipe, Marussia faster than you. :)

  7. alexf1man (@alexf1man) said on 28th March 2012, 15:32

    F1 has had 5 different winners in the last 5 races: Vettel, Hamilton, Webber, Button, Alonso.

  8. Andrew81 (@andrew81) said on 28th March 2012, 18:00

    For the first time since he won in Japan 2010, Vettel has gone four races without winning.

    Last year, Vettel had a 24-point lead after two races. This year, the top seven drivers in the WDC are separated by 19 points. Even in the competitive 2010 season, only the top six were separated by 19 points, although the top seven were separated by just 9 points after three races.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.