Hamilton to take five-place grid penalty in China

2012 Chinese Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton, McLaren, Sepang, 2012Lewis Hamilton’s run of pole positions is almost certain to end as he is set to be penalised five places on the grid for the Chinese Grand Prix.

Hamilton revealed on Thursday the team have had to change his gearbox for this weekend’s race.

Drivers are required to use the same gearbox for five consecutive races.

The McLaren driver started the first two races of the year from pole position.

2012 Chinese Grand Prix

Browse all 2012 Chinese Grand Prix articles

Image ?é?® McLaren/Hoch Zwei

Advert | Go Ad-free

179 comments on Hamilton to take five-place grid penalty in China

  1. Dan Escreet said on 12th April 2012, 21:15

    “almost certain” ?? sounds 100% certain to me….

  2. OOliver said on 12th April 2012, 21:42

    Getting pole and starting from pole are two different things.
    If Hamilton were to get the pole position and take the penalty, Button starting from Pole can’t claim it as his first pole for Mclaren or their 150th pole.
    So I believe the article may be somewhat flawed. As records will still show the pole lap of who ever sets the fastest time.
    The time is not erased, the car is only moved back.

    Anyway it may well be that Button is on pole himself.

  3. dam00r (@dam00r) said on 13th April 2012, 0:39

    Let’s see now if Button steps up to the plate. I’m not so sure..

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.