Mark Webber, Red Bull, Sepang, 2013

Red Bull claim new pit stop record of 2.05 seconds

2013 Malaysian Grand PrixPosted on | Author Keith Collantine

Mark Webber, Red Bull, Sepang, 2013Red Bull claim their mechanics set a new record for the fastest ever four-wheel tyre change in Formula One.

Mark Webber’s RB9 was stationary for just 2.05 seconds when it had all four wheels changed on lap 19 of the Malaysian Grand Prix.

It helped Webber towards the fastest complete pit stop time of the entire race, taking 20.736 seconds from entry to exit. The top four quickest times at Sepang were all achieved by Red Bull.

Red Bull believe five of their eight pit stops during the Malaysian Grand Prix were quicker than the previous record of 2.31 seconds set by McLaren on Jenson Button’s car during last year’s German Grand Prix:

Driver Lap Pit stop Time (s)
Mark Webber 19 2 2.05
Sebastian Vettel 5 1 2.13
Mark Webber 7 1 2.13
Mark Webber 31 3 2.21
Mark Webber 43 4 2.26

“It’s possible this season we?ll see the magical two-second barrier breached at some point,” said the team.

“However, rather than chasing individual times, improving consistency is always the thing coveted by the crew: breaking records is merely the consequence of doing that well.”

2013 Malaysian Grand Prix

Browse all 2013 Malaysian Grand Prix articles

Image ?? Red Bull/Getty