Alonso’s 31st victory puts him level with Mansell

2013 Chinese Grand Prix stats and facts

Nigel Mansell, Williams, Hungaroring, 2012Following his Chinese Grand Prix triumph Fernando Alonso is tied with Nigel Mansell as the fourth most successful driver in F1 history in terms of race wins.

After scoring his 31st career victory there are only three drivers left who have scored more wins than Alonso:

Driver Wins Starts Win rate
Michael Schumacher 91 306 29.74%
Alain Prost 51 191 26.7%
Ayrton Senna 41 161 25.47%
Nigel Mansell 31 187 16.58%
Fernando Alonso 31 199 15.58%

Four drivers have appeared at all ten Chinese Grands Prix but Alonso is the only driver to have completed all 560 laps. Jenson Button is the only other driver to have been classified in every race, but was lapped in 2008. Mark Webber retired from the race for the first time on Sunday while Felipe Massa has failed to finish on two previous occasions.

Alonso had four other world champions behind him when he crossed the line, making this the second time in F1 history that five world champions have filled the top five places, after the 2011 Italian Grand Prix. Six or more champions have never filled the leading positions – the only year this could have happened was last season.

Lewis Hamilton set the 27th pole position of his career. It was Mercedes’ tenth and the first set for them by a British driver since Stirling Moss in the 1955 British Grand Prix at Aintree.

He was joined on the front row by Kimi Raikkonen, who last started there at the 2009 Monaco Grand Prix. The last time the pair started in that order was at the same race five years ago.

Raikkonen extended his streak of consecutive points scores to 20, leaving him four short of Schumacher’s all-time record. Massa and Vettel are also in double figures in this tally at the moment, with 13 and 10 respectively.

Sebastian Vettel set the 17th fastest lap of his career. One more will put him level with Rubens Barrichello.

Vettel and Hamilton both took turns in the lead of the race, meaning they have both led 50 races each during their F1 careers. Ten drivers have led more races than them:

Driver Races led Races won Wins as % of races led
Michael Schumacher 142 91 64.08%
Ayrton Senna 86 41 47.67%
Alain Prost 84 51 60.71%
Fernando Alonso 80 31 38.75%
David Coulthard 62 13 20.97%
Kimi Raikkonen 59 20 33.9%
Nelson Piquet 58 23 39.66%
Nigel Mansell 55 31 56.36%
Jackie Stewart 51 27 52.94%
Rubens Barrichello 51 11 21.57%
Sebastian Vettel 50 27 54%
Lewis Hamilton 50 21 42%

Six different drivers led the race including Nico Hulkenberg, who was at the head of the field for the second time in four races.

Daniel Ricciardo scored the best result of his F1 career so far with seventh place. This was Toro Rosso’s best finish since the 2011 Korean Grand Prix.

Eighth place for Paul di Resta meant Force India scored their first points in China.

While the soft tyre attracted some criticism for wearing out too quickly, it did provide good performance. Hamilton’s pole position time of 1’34.484 was 0.7s quicker than last year.

Review the year so far in statistics here:

Spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Chinese Grand Prix? Share them in the comments.

2013 Chinese Grand Prix

Browse all 2013 Chinese Grand Prix articles

Image ?é?® Williams/LAT

Advert | Go Ad-free


111 comments on Alonso’s 31st victory puts him level with Mansell

  1. wsrgo (@wsrgo) said on 15th April 2013, 15:17

    Another thing..when was the last time that the person who received the Constructors’ trophy for winning the race, was not wearing the team uniform?

  2. andae23 (@andae23) said on 15th April 2013, 15:54

    I was watching the 2012 Hungarian GP from the stands and I’m 100% sure I didn’t see a mustache ;)

  3. That was Hamilton’s 51st podium, tying him with Mika Hakkinen. Next up is Lauda, with 54.

  4. Tom_ec1 (@tom_ec1) said on 15th April 2013, 16:12

    Here’s an interesting one for you…

    2013 Chinese GP won by Alonso in 01:36:26.945
    2012 Chinese GP won by Rosberg in 01:36:26.929

    So 2012 and 2013 race winners separated by 0.016 seconds after 56 laps!!!

  5. matt90 (@matt90) said on 15th April 2013, 16:38

    Ferrari have won races in 20 consecutive seasons.

  6. Minardi (@gitanes) said on 15th April 2013, 17:14

    Kimi and Fernando have been on the podium together 32 times now – I assume more than any other combo on the grid today but I guess I don’t know.

    Also, the two fastest qualifiers were not from Ferrari, McLaren, or Red Bull. Was that the first time since Toyota front row in Bahrain 2009? Mercedes started from front row in China 2012 but Lewis was 2nd fastest before penalty.

  7. Mitch White said on 15th April 2013, 19:18

    Webber’s retirement means Lotus are the only team to have had both drivers finish in the points in every race.

  8. We are on a current streak of 13 races which have been one by world champions at the time, which is the longest since between the 2010 Belgian Grand Prix and the 2011 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – a span of 25 races. Also, the teams who filled the top four places on last years constructor’s standings have won the last 4 races.

  9. paulgilb (@paulgilb) said on 15th April 2013, 22:22

    Webber’s first no-score in China.
    Alonso has a 100% record of top 9 starts and top 9 finishes in China.
    5th podium for Hamilton in China – more than any other circuit.
    Button’s last 5 visits to China have seen him finish 3rd, 1st, 4th, 2nd, 5th.
    First time since 2010 that the Chinese GP has seen a retirement that was not due to a wheel failure.
    Alonso has started from positions 5-3-3 this season, Hamilton has finished 5-3-3.
    All 3 races so far in 2013 have seen 18 classified finishers.
    11th season in a row that at least 1 Mercedes-powered car has managed a pole.
    88th race in a row in which at least one German has scored points (France 2008 was last race without) – equals Britain’s record.
    10th season in a row in which at least 1 British driver has scored a pole.

  10. Michael Brown (@) said on 17th April 2013, 16:11

    Alonso had four other world champions behind him when he crossed the line, making this the second time in F1 history that five world champions have filled the top five places, after the 2011 Italian Grand Prix.

    In both of these two races, Mark Webber retired.

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.