Bahrain’s repeat podium is a rare occurence for F1

2013 Bahrain Grand Prix stats and facts

Kimi Raikkonen, Sebastian Vettel, Romain Grosjean, Bahrain, 2012Sebastian Vettel led Kimi Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean home in the Bahrain Grand Prix, recreating the same podium we saw at this race last year (pictured).

This is only the third time in Formula One history the same race has had a repeat podium in consecutive years. It last happened in the 1998 and 1999 Spanish Grands Prix, won by Mika Hakkinen with David Coulthard and Michael Schumacher second and third.

The 1964 and 1965 British Grands Prix also had the same podium, with Jim Clark winning ahead of Graham Hill and John Surtees. Remarkably the same trio were also on the podium in 1963 – Clark won but Surtees beat Hill to second on that occasion.

Vettel’s second win in the Bahrain Grand Prix was his 28th career victory. The next drivers in front of him on the all-time winners list are Nigel Mansell and Fernando Alonso, with 31.

It was the 36th win for Red Bull, meaning they are now on their own in fifth place in the list of most successful F1 teams. That’s a remarkable achievement given last Friday marked four years since their first F1 victory:

Position Team Wins Win rate
1 Ferrari 220 25.7%
2 McLaren 182 25.0%
3 Williams 114 19.1%
4 Lotus 81 14.6%
5 Red Bull 36 24.0%

Vettel scored his 17th fastest lap, giving him as many as Rubens Barrichello. He is also the only driver to have led every race so far this year.

Nico Rosberg scored the second pole position of his career, giving him as many as Stuart Lewis-Evans, Jo Siffert, John Watson, Gilles Villeneuve, Michele Alboreto, Jean Alesi and Heinz-Harald Frentzen.

It was the first time Mercedes have scored back-to-back pole positions since Stirling Moss and Juan Manuel Fangio did so in the 1955 British and Italian Grands Prix. Mercedes’ 11th pole position gives them as many as Cooper and BRM.

Mark Webber, Red Bull, Bahrain International Circuit, 2013Fernando Alonso and Mark Webber marked their 200th grand prix starts in Bahrain (Ferrari celebrated Alonso’s 200th participation two races ago). It was also the 150th race start for Red Bull.

Paul di Resta led an F1 race for the second time in his career – the previous occasion was this race last year.

Red Bull’s head of trackside electronics Gill Jones was not the first woman to stand on the podium at an F1 race representing a team. It’s happened on at least one other occasion.

Virginia Williams, who passed away last month, received the trophy for Williams at the 1986 British Grand Prix at Brands Hatch, when Nigel Mansell and Nelson Piquet finished first and second. This was her husband Frank Williams’s first appearance at a race after bring paralysed in a road accident earlier that year.

Finally, Kimi Raikkonen finished in the points for the 21st consecutive race, meaning he needs three more to equal Michael Schumacher’s record.

After Raikkonen the driver with the next-longest streak of consecutive points scores was Felipe Massa, on 13, but that ended with his 15th-place finished yesterday. Next up is Vettel on 11. Lotus remain the only team to have both drivers finish in the points in every race so far this year.

Spotted any other interesting stats and facts from the Bahrain Grand Prix? Share them in the comments.

2013 Bahrain Grand Prix

Browse all 2013 Bahrain Grand Prix articles

Images ?? Red Bull/Getty

Advert | Go Ad-free


62 comments on Bahrain’s repeat podium is a rare occurence for F1

  1. Bleu (@bleu) said on 22nd April 2013, 21:45

    Safety car has not been used during the first four races. Since SC became regular part of F1 in 1993, this has happened five times earlier.
    1995 – first visit in Belgium (Round 11)
    1998 – first visit in Canada (Round 7)
    2004 – first visit in Monaco (Round 6)
    2005 – first visit in Spain (Round 5)
    2011 – first visit in Monaco (Round 6)

  2. paulgilb (@paulgilb) said on 22nd April 2013, 23:02

    First time since 2006 that Rosberg has finished in Bahrain in a different position to where he started.

    89th consecutive race in which a German driver has scored – beats Britain’s record from the 1960s.

    11 different drivers have led laps so far this season – last year saw 13 all season, 2010 and 2011 only saw 8 all season.

  3. This is Mercedes’ 2nd pole this season, should they double that, they will equal the most poles in a season for them (4 – 1954 [All by Fangio]). First back-to-back poles for the Brackley team since 2009 (Spain & Monaco with Button).

    Romain Grosjean has now got his longest point-scoring streak in F1 (4 races). Di Resta has had by far his best first 4 ‘flyaway’ races of the season (2 points in 2011, 15 in 2012, 20 in 2013). The Enstone team have not had 4 podiums in the first 4 races since 2006, where they had 5. Nico Hulkenberg finished a race outside the points since Singapore 2012 (14th), despite claiming fastest lap in that race. Paul Di Resta was 4th in both these races.

    No podiums for McLaren in the first 4 races since 2009, and they have not had as bad a start to the season as they did in 2004! ( 1 6th, 2 8ths, 5 points in old money, 16 in new money).

  4. paulista said on 23rd April 2013, 9:52

    At the beginning of the season Sebastian Vettel was the sixth best scorer of all time (in modern points/race start) just behind Alain Prost. After this weekend he is fifth (behind Fangio, Ascari, Farina and Schumacher). The figures are 17.12, 13.94, 13.55, 12.71, 12.58 and 12.48. Lewis Hamilton is still seventh with 11.76, above the grossly overrated Ayrton Senna, eight with 11.68

    • paulista said on 23rd April 2013, 10:47


    • above the grossly overrated Ayrton Senna

      I think that’s a highly unjust thing to say: Senna had a lot of mechanical failures in his time, and had to contend several seasons fighting the far superior William’s cars and often a faster Benetton as well. The plain numbers only tell half the story…

  5. hamed (@hamjad) said on 24th April 2013, 11:37

    It was also 31th consecutive race that Raikkonen was finishing a race. record holder is Nick Hiedfeld

Add your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must abide by the comment policy. Comments may be moderated.
Want to post off-topic? Head to the forum.
See the FAQ for more information.